Automating Outlook

Ask general questions here.
reka

Automating Outlook

Post by reka » Fri Feb 26, 2010 10:18 am

Hi,

I'm new to Ranorex, currently evaluating if it would suit our needs to automate some tests in Outlook.
What I would like to do is open outlook, select a mailbox (from potentially multiple) and iterate through its folders, checking every mail in them - comparing mail content to a previously saved one.

I managed to get control for the folder tree and that works fine but I can't access the supergrid where I could select the mails. It shows up as Element 4704 in the Ranorex Spy, with no accessable elements/content

I have similar issues with the preview pane in outlook 2007 (2003 works ok) (_Wwg element)

Is there no alternative solution but mouse movement and relative coordinates?

Thanks!

atom

Re: Automating Outlook

Post by atom » Fri Feb 26, 2010 3:02 pm

hiya

what "flavor" does it come up as "win32" ?

Cheers

reka

Post by reka » Fri Feb 26, 2010 4:11 pm

Hello,

Yes, it is

Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Support Team » Mon Mar 01, 2010 4:20 pm

Hi,

the problem you described is known by our Developement Team, but at the current version there is no way to get the SUPERGRID cells of Outlook, because it's identified as a single element.
But you can try this with image based recording or static mouse movements.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Support Team

reka

Post by reka » Wed Mar 17, 2010 2:00 pm

Hi,

The problem with the static mouse movement is, that I have no means to determine the height of a cell in pixels - it can change based on the system I'm using (and probably resolution and things like that)

We had an idea of taking a screenshot of the element, than move the selection down to the next mail and take another screenshot. Is there any way of determining the height of the pixel difference between these two captures?

Thanks

Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Support Team » Fri Mar 19, 2010 12:46 pm

Hi,