3.3.3 Image Issue

Ask general questions here.
costamesakid
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 10:27 pm

3.3.3 Image Issue

Post by costamesakid » Tue Nov 06, 2012 9:36 pm

I have recently upgraded from 3.3.0 to 3.3.3. Now the only way I can get any image steps to execute correctly is to just play the single step for that image as seen below for step 11:
ScreenHunter_79 Nov. 06 14.21.jpg
ScreenHunter_79 Nov. 06 14.21.jpg (50.58 KiB) Viewed 890 times
If I try to build and run the entire Test Case I consistently get the following error. There also is no folder in my Ranorex directory that is referenced in the log report. Any help with this matter is appreciated. Thanks
ScreenHunter_79 Nov. 06 14.29.jpg
ScreenHunter_79 Nov. 06 14.29.jpg (43.44 KiB) Viewed 890 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: 3.3.3 Image Issue

Post by Support Team » Wed Nov 07, 2012 12:38 pm

Hello,

Do you have multiple projects in your solution?

In order to reproduce this issue we would need more information on which action does this error occur.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

costamesakid
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 10:27 pm

Re: 3.3.3 Image Issue

Post by costamesakid » Wed Nov 07, 2012 4:38 pm

Yes I have multiple projects in my solution.

When I run step 11 by itself (which is just an image based mouse click), it works. However, when run the entire project containing the recording with step 11, then I get the error message.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: 3.3.3 Image Issue

Post by Support Team » Wed Nov 07, 2012 6:18 pm

Hello,

Please provide us information on the structure of your projects in your solution.
Could you please verify which repository (e.g. TacViewLibRepository.rxrep) is used in your projects?
Make sure that the correct repository is linked to your main project.

Please take a look at this post.
This could be the same issue that you have.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image

costamesakid
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 10:27 pm

Re: 3.3.3 Image Issue

Post by costamesakid » Mon Nov 12, 2012 5:51 pm

As you can see from the screenshot below our projects are structured where all projects use 1 repository from a class library. In this case 'TacViewLibRepository.rxrep' in the TacViewLib Project.
ScreenHunter_80 Nov. 12 10.38.jpg
ScreenHunter_80 Nov. 12 10.38.jpg (33.86 KiB) Viewed 846 times
I was able to get image validation to work in other projects by right clicking on the project (i.e. TacViewPreferences) and selecting Add > Existing Item > TacViewLibRepository.rxrep THEN SELECTING THE LINK OPTION. However, this results in over 600 Ranorex warnings. With the majority of the warnings pertaining to the fact that the CS file that is created in TacViewPreferences when doing the "Link" step has the TacViewLib namespace. This results in 2 TacViewLibRepository CS files in the same namespace.
ScreenHunter_80 Nov. 12 10.40.jpg
ScreenHunter_80 Nov. 12 10.40.jpg (239.97 KiB) Viewed 846 times
We had no problems with image validation in Version 3.3.0. All this occurs after we upgraded to Version 3.3.3. If you have any documentation regarding what changes were made regarding image validation in Version 3.3.3 maybe that would be useful to us. Thanks

tallahassee101
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 2:06 pm

Re: 3.3.3 Image Issue

Post by tallahassee101 » Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:30 pm

Markus,

In the following post http://www.ranorex.com/forum/post16707. ... age#p16707 you mentioned that the absolute path is now no longer stored in the repo file which seems to be the cause of the problem here. The absolute path before was properly finding the RepositoryImages/*.rximgres file of TacViewLib trying to be accessed in the recording of TacViewPreferences. However now that the absolute path is no longer stored the TacViewPreferences recording is looking in the relative path position where the rximgres file is not located since it is in a different project.

What seems to be needed is a way to link the rximgres file so that it gets placed inside the TacViewPreferences/RepositoryImages folder when doing a build. Is this possible?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: 3.3.3 Image Issue

Post by Support Team » Tue Nov 13, 2012 2:26 pm

Hello,

It seems to be the same issue as posted in How to include the Image Repository in the executable?
This bug is fixed in our current version 3.3.4.

Please undo the previous steps (link repository) and update to our current version.

Regards,
Markus (T)
.
Image