32bit/64bi Applications

Class library usage, coding and language questions.
j.early
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 12:14 pm

32bit/64bi Applications

Post by j.early » Thu Jun 21, 2012 8:08 am

Hi all,

We have 2 builds of our application, 32bit and 64bit.

I would like my scripts/recordings to be independent of version. I can’t think of the correct way to incorporate this into recording as they seem dependent on the actual exe you select during the recording.

Any tips :)

Thanks
Joe

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: 32bit/64bi Applications

Post by Support Team » Fri Jun 22, 2012 11:17 am

Hi,

basically there is no need to take care about bit width, as Ranorex has a bit bridge handling this automatically for you.
Please make sure to have enabled bit bridge in General Settings.

Regards,
Tobias
Ranorex Team

j.early
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 12:14 pm

Re: 32bit/64bi Applications

Post by j.early » Tue Jun 26, 2012 2:13 pm

Its not bit width am worried about to be honest.

Our application comes with a set of 12 sample images. If I install both the 32bit and 64bit on to the same machine, Ill get 2 different install paths for these file.

For example:
x86: C:\Program Files\CompanyName\ToolName x64 7.5.0\images
x64: C:\Program Files (x86)\CompanyName\ToolName 7.5.0\images

If I record a script and pick one from x64, its always going to go back to that same folder, even when working in the 32bit version

Cheers
J

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: 32bit/64bi Applications

Post by Support Team » Tue Jun 26, 2012 2:31 pm

Hi,

you might have to make the path you are using in your automation variable.
Therefore please have a look at the data-driven testing chapter in our user guide.

Regards,
Tobias
Ranorex Team

User avatar
sdaly
Posts: 238
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 11:04 am
Location: Dundee, Scotland

Re: 32bit/64bi Applications

Post by sdaly » Tue Jun 26, 2012 2:38 pm

You would be best to do this as a user code module I would imagine. An easy solution is to have two constants specifying the two paths and just do a "Directory.Exists()" on each to find out which path is used...