[5.3.0] Spy Not Picking up AutomationID in WPF App

Bug reports.
User avatar
Gh15ty
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 9:41 pm

[5.3.0] Spy Not Picking up AutomationID in WPF App

Post by Gh15ty » Tue Mar 03, 2015 5:13 pm

Hi

Got a strange issue since upgrading to 5.3.0.

I am automating a WPF application and thought I would try the new native wpf mode for object identification. I have got wpfPreferred and 'Show All Elements' enabled, apart from that all settings are default.

When I now spy objects, I no longer see the AutomationId property set against the object. The automationId can be seen if I change back to UiaOnly, but not with in the wpf mode.

A couple of elements do have automationId's visible, but looking at it, these are actually being pulled from the Name property (not AutomationName, just name). If the name property has a value, then this will be copied into the AutomationId property in the spy.

Proved the above by spying an object and not seeing the automationId, then using snoop, adding a Name property and spying again. On second attempt the automationId is displayed as a copy of the name.


Is this a bug or desired behaviour?

Cheers
Darren

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: [5.3.0] Spy Not Picking up AutomationID in WPF App

Post by Support Team » Wed Mar 04, 2015 4:21 pm

Hi Darren,

We unfortunately have some issues with the AutomtaionId with Ranorex 5.3.
May I therefore ask you to send us a Ranorex snapshot of your application, one from your app when it is identified with the UIA plugin and one if the new plugin is used?
The following link will show you how to generate a snapshot file: Creating Ranorex Snapshot Files.
Furthermore, would it be possible to send us your application for detailed analysis?
You can send all the files directly to [email protected] with a link to this forum post.

Thanks,
Markus
.
Image

User avatar
Gh15ty
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 9:41 pm

Re: [5.3.0] Spy Not Picking up AutomationID in WPF App

Post by Gh15ty » Thu Mar 05, 2015 10:12 am

Hi Markus

Thanks for the reply, have emailed separately.

Cheers
Darren

bewiss
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 3:11 pm

Re: [5.3.0] Spy Not Picking up AutomationID in WPF App

Post by bewiss » Mon Mar 23, 2015 6:06 pm

I do have the same problem!!!

Clicking within Spy into the UIA-tree always pops up an warning window ("please consider using wpf ...")

Using "find", "findsingle", etc. in usercode doesn't work any more. I presume that RR is searching the hell out of two trees (WPF and UIA)

Is ist possible to disable the WPF tree in SPY? I don't want 2 identically named forms. Ranorex IDE gets totally confused therefore!
This is really a major bug!!

Please provide a solution ...

User avatar
Gh15ty
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 9:41 pm

Re: [5.3.0] Spy Not Picking up AutomationID in WPF App

Post by Gh15ty » Mon Mar 23, 2015 6:17 pm

I've got around it in the short term by setting UiaOnly in the spy.

Settings > Plugins > WPF > WPF Legacy / UIA Interaction = UiaOnly

bewiss
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 3:11 pm

Re: [5.3.0] Spy Not Picking up AutomationID in WPF App

Post by bewiss » Mon Mar 23, 2015 6:26 pm

Thx Gh15ty, you made my day! :-)

User avatar
Gh15ty
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 9:41 pm

Re: [5.3.0] Spy Not Picking up AutomationID in WPF App

Post by Gh15ty » Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:24 pm

On first glance, looks like this is fixed in version 5.3.2.

Cheers