5.4.0: Run doesn't start after success (re)build

Bug reports.
rka
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 7:54 am

5.4.0: Run doesn't start after success (re)build

Post by rka » Tue Jul 28, 2015 6:42 am

Hi Ranorexians,

since we changed to v5.4.0, we have problems starting a test run for recordings.

These are the steps that sometimes throw errors:
- create recording
- run recording (works)
- change a variable value
- run recording (doesn't work, we get the errors in the screenshots)
0xc0000142.png
0xc0000142.png (7.98 KiB) Viewed 1119 times
sometimes followed by this:
ranorex.debugger.displayclass10.png
ranorex.debugger.displayclass10.png (13.88 KiB) Viewed 1119 times
We used v5.1.1 before and hadn't these problems. Now it's sometimes really hard to start a test. Even restarting Ranorex doesn't help, but we cannot even tell, when this error occurs, and when not. Sometimes rebuilding helps, even if the error doesn't affect this.

System is running on a Windows XP machine.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Kind Regards,
Rafael

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3921
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: 5.4.0: Run doesn't start after success (re)build

Post by odklizec » Tue Jul 28, 2015 9:06 am

Hi,

What service pack is installed on our Windows XP? Ranorex 5.4 is installed with .Net 4.0, which I believe requires at minimum Windows XP SP3? So make sure your XP is updated with the latest service pack and hotfixes!

BTW, what target framework are you using in your project? You should still be able to set the Target Framework to .Net 3.5. However, from Ranorex 5.4 release notes it seems that .Net 4.0 will be required by next major version?

Anyway, I think using WinXP for development/testing is not a very good idea anyway. Seriously, it's over 13 years old system, which is no longer supported even by MS! So I'm afraid, you can't expect any support or guarantee of stable environment from Ranorex either ;)
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

rka
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 7:54 am

Re: 5.4.0: Run doesn't start after success (re)build

Post by rka » Tue Jul 28, 2015 12:17 pm

SP3 is installed and the following framework packs:
.NET 2.0 SP2
.NET 3.0 SP2
.NET 3.5 SP1
.NET 4.0 Client Profile
.NET 4.0 Extended

When I started the Ranorex setup, it wanted to download the .NET 4.0 itself, so this one is installed I guess.

You are right by saying that WinXP isn't a good idea to be used, but that's customer related :(

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3921
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: 5.4.0: Run doesn't start after success (re)build

Post by odklizec » Tue Jul 28, 2015 12:32 pm

Hi,

Try to check this post with possible solution of your problem...
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/950312

If the "console application" is really the cause of the issue, you may also try to compile your test as a Windows Application instead of Console Application (default configuration)...
WindowsApp.png
WindowsApp.png (12.33 KiB) Viewed 1095 times
Hope this helps?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration