5.4.4 - Object found on node locked computer, not runtime

Bug reports.
dochoa
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 11:36 pm

5.4.4 - Object found on node locked computer, not runtime

Post by dochoa » Wed Feb 03, 2016 1:40 am

Using Ranorex 5.4.4

When creating my test on my node locked computer I find the following element easily:

.//button[@title='close' and @tagname='button']/span[@innertext='close']

Running the test clicks it.

So I build to Team City and run the resulting application on our runtime workstation where instead of clicking the object it clicks the upper left corner of the browser and causes the test to fail.

I have tried several different xpaths, image recognition, and even tried finding another sibling to use as a point of reference and all fail.

Any suggestions?
Any other info I can give to help?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3945
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: 5.4.4 - Object found on node locked computer, not runtime

Post by odklizec » Wed Feb 03, 2016 8:39 am

Hi,

Have you tried to track the problematic element (on runtime machine) with spy? What's its xpath?

Typically, the problem like this is caused by different Ranorex configuration. Please follow this post...
http://www.ranorex.com/forum/control-no ... tml#p36138

If it's not such case, then we will need to see the actual xpath of the element on runtime machine. It's most probably different (due to different OS version, AUT version, different version of .Net installed on target machine, etc...).
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

dochoa
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 11:36 pm

Re: 5.4.4 - Object found on node locked computer, not runtime

Post by dochoa » Wed Feb 03, 2016 5:17 pm

Hi,

I cannot find the configuration file that is mentioned in the post you linked to on my Windows 7 workstation. I would try that if I could find it.
Where is RanorexConfig5.xml?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3945
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: 5.4.4 - Object found on node locked computer, not runtime

Post by odklizec » Wed Feb 03, 2016 6:30 pm

Hi,

It should be on the path as mentioned in the above post. You just need to replace the 'username' string with your actual user name with which you login to windows. If you don't see such path in file explorer, you will probably need to unhide system or hidden files/folders in explorer settings.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

dochoa
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 11:36 pm

Re: 5.4.4 - Object found on node locked computer, not runtime

Post by dochoa » Thu Feb 04, 2016 6:50 pm

Hi odklizec,

I found that it was only during runtime 2 objects of the same path were being found (had to run the same exact steps). Using Is Visible in the xpath fixed the issue.

Thank you.