About ApplicationNotRespondingException

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
ranonub
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 1:23 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

About ApplicationNotRespondingException

Post by ranonub » Tue Oct 10, 2017 7:27 am

The newly added ApplicationNotRespondingException in version 7.2 seems to be raised very quickly when the application becomes unresponsive (form has duration:0). This is causing most of my test cases the fail as the application might become unresponsive at times (sometimes up to 50-60 seconds) but this doesn't mean that it is crashed.
  • Is there a way to delay the firing of this exception without delaying the execution times of the actions?
    I haven't had the time to try it, but would the duration property in the application form fix this?
    If not is there a way to silence or disable this exception so that ranorex doesn't raise an error, resulting in cancellation of the test case.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: About ApplicationNotRespondingException

Post by Support Team » Wed Oct 11, 2017 12:55 pm

Hello ranonub,

Thank you for your post.
In order to increase this timeout, please follow these steps:

1. Close Ranorex Studio and navigate to your "AppData\Roaming" folder by entering %appdata% into the navigation bar of your file explorer
appdata.png
appdata.png (49.69 KiB) Viewed 1881 times
2.Open the "Ranorex.Config7.xml" - file

3. Increase the adapter.functionexecutiontimeout in the following line
functionexecutiontimeout.png
functionexecutiontimeout.png (12.38 KiB) Viewed 1881 times
I hope this information is helpful.
regards,
Stephan
.
Image

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: About ApplicationNotRespondingException

Post by krstcs » Wed Oct 11, 2017 1:52 pm

This should probably be a setting in Ranorex's normal settings dialog. Any value which effects tests and timeouts should really be adjustable from the UI.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

MGBChrome
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 8:35 am

Re: About ApplicationNotRespondingException

Post by MGBChrome » Thu Oct 12, 2017 8:42 am

Hello @Support Team
3. Increase the adapter.functionexecutiontimeout in the following line
Thank you very much for this perfect description of the solution.
I wasn't able to try this "trick" out yet. But I'm definitely sure that it will work.

I'm so happy, that you could help me, because, since I updated to Ranorex 7.2, I have had a lot of problems with exact this exception.

Big up @Support Team!

regards,
Roman

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: About ApplicationNotRespondingException

Post by Support Team » Thu Oct 12, 2017 1:04 pm

Hello everyone,

@MGBChrome:
This timeout was implemented in Ranorex 7.2 in order to report unresponsive applications.
I hope increasing the duration will help.

@krstcs:
Thank you for your input.
If you want, you can leave a feature request in our UserVoice platform. This platform is designed to bridge the gap between our users’ needs and our development focus.

regards,
Stephan
.
Image

ranonub
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 1:23 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: About ApplicationNotRespondingException

Post by ranonub » Tue Nov 14, 2017 5:41 am

Thanks Support that resolves to issue, however while running Ranorex as administrator I have realised that the exception comes up quickly again. When I ran the application again in with standard privileges the settings in RanorexConfig7.xml file seem to apply as usual.

It seems like running Ranorex as administrator is overwriting the settings maybe?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: About ApplicationNotRespondingException

Post by Support Team » Wed Nov 15, 2017 2:51 pm

Hello ranonub,

Usually, starting as administrator should not make a difference here.
However, you could also try to increase this timeout within the Ranorex.rxsettings file of your solution and see if this will help in your case.
Therefore, simply copy the following section from the Ranorex.Config7 file into your Ranorex.rxsettings file.
functionexecutiontimeout.png
functionexecutiontimeout.png (34.93 KiB) Viewed 1691 times
I hope, this helps.

regards,
Stephan
.
Image

SnapJeff
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 11:20 pm

Re: About ApplicationNotRespondingException

Post by SnapJeff » Tue Jan 16, 2018 11:35 pm

Hi Stephan,

I too was experiencing the ApplicationNotRespondingException. I added the functionexecutiontimeout to the solution settings file, which solved the problem.

BUUUT....now, every time I load the solution, that setting is removed from the Ranorex.rxsettings file. I did not find anything in the settings dialog that allows the functionexecutiontimeout to be changed - only by manually adding the XML to the settings file.

Is there a way to make this a 'permanent' setting?

I am using Ranorex 7.2

Thanks,
Jeff

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: About ApplicationNotRespondingException

Post by Support Team » Wed Jan 17, 2018 2:36 pm

Hi SnapJeff,

Thank you for your post.

In this case, please try to change this setting globally.
Therefore, please open the RanorexConfig7.xml file (In case of Ranorex 8: RanorexConfig8.xml) in your "appdata/Roaming" directory.
In order to open this directory, simply run %appdata% from the run window.
run_appdata.png
run_appdata.png (6.45 KiB) Viewed 1456 times
Afterwards, please open the RanorexConfig7.xml (In case of Ranorex 8 it is called RanorexConfig8.xml) file and increase the "adapter.functionexecutiontimeout"
functionexecutiontimeout.png
functionexecutiontimeout.png (2.13 KiB) Viewed 1456 times
regards,
Stephan
.
Image

SnapJeff
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 11:20 pm

Re: About ApplicationNotRespondingException

Post by SnapJeff » Wed Jan 17, 2018 3:55 pm

Stephan,

I did see that method in an earlier post in this thread and it works. However, I was looking for a more 'turnkey' solution. By adding the timeout to the solution settings file it seemed to propagate to the settings file of every project in the solution. That is beneficial because the timeout setting is contained within each executable and the modified Ranorex.Config7.xml does not have to be copied to the DUT at the %APPDATA% folder.

Having a setting in the solution settings file that is not persisted does not help much.

Regards,
Jeff

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: About ApplicationNotRespondingException

Post by Support Team » Thu Jan 18, 2018 1:06 pm

Hello SnapJeff,

Thank you for your reply.
May I ask you to create a support query so we can further discuss this issue and schedule a remote session?
Thank you in advance.

regards,
Stephan
.
Image

swmatisa
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 7:52 am

Re: About ApplicationNotRespondingException

Post by swmatisa » Fri Feb 23, 2018 9:11 am

Dear Support,

I have only a little part of my application under test that generate an "ApplicationNotRespondingException". Is there a way to set "adapter.functionexecutiontimeout" with user code to change the value in my differents tests.

Best Regards
SW

csr
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 10:25 am

Re: About ApplicationNotRespondingException

Post by csr » Fri Feb 23, 2018 11:34 am

This is not an acceptable solution!
This means that everyone on the team working with Ranorex has to change a file on his machine (every time we want to change this value!) and you have to change it on the build server(s) as well!
Why not put it in the regular Ranorex settings that can be changed within the Ranorex solution? This way, the changes would get propagated by the version control system.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: About ApplicationNotRespondingException

Post by Support Team » Mon Feb 26, 2018 1:16 pm

Hello csr,

Thank you for your post.
I'm sorry, that this approach is no optimal solution for you.
Therefore, may I ask you to add your idea as a feature request to our UserVoice platform ?
This platform is designed to bridge the gap between our users’ needs and our development focus.
Thank you in advance.

regards,
Stephan
.
Image

swmatisa
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2011 7:52 am

Re: About ApplicationNotRespondingException

Post by swmatisa » Tue Feb 27, 2018 8:16 am

Hello,

I create the entry in UserVoice. Please vote for it:
https://uservoice.ranorex.com/forums/15 ... pplication
SW