All of a sudden Objects are not recognized in Chrome.

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
phani.2905
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:19 pm

All of a sudden Objects are not recognized in Chrome.

Post by phani.2905 » Wed Nov 18, 2015 10:55 am

Hi,

Its been many days i visited Ranorex Forums, Currently i am having problems in recording scripts in Chrome. Is there any new update released from Ranorex to support for Chrome. Please let me know the cause, why Ranorex does not recognize objects in Chrome. I have been using Ranorex to record scripts in Chrome since many days. All of a sudden i realized that old scripts are not playing and also i am unable to record new ones. (I would like to bring to your notice, that i had installed Chrome Ranorex Extension. )

(Ranorex Version :4.1.5)

Thanks,
Phani
Last edited by phani.2905 on Thu Nov 19, 2015 1:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: All of a sudden Objects are not recognized in Chrome.

Post by odklizec » Wed Nov 18, 2015 11:12 am

Hi,

Ranorex 4.1.5 is a pretty old version, which most probably supports only old version of Chrome. If you accidentally updated Chrome to most recent version, you will have to either update Ranorex to most recent version (try latest Ranorex trial) or uninstall your recent Chrome version and return back to the one which worked fine with 4.1.5.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

phani.2905
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:19 pm

Re: All of a sudden Objects are not recognized in Chrome.

Post by phani.2905 » Thu Nov 19, 2015 1:14 pm

Hi

I will look into the possibility of upgrading to New Ranorex Version.

Thanks,

TimRo
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 1:10 pm

Re: All of a sudden Objects are not recognized in Chrome.

Post by TimRo » Fri Nov 20, 2015 10:05 am

Hi,

I have the same issue, but on ranorex 5.4.0
Chrome version: 43.0.23 (no auto updates)
Windows: 7 enterprise 64bit, servicepack 1

yesterday night (GMT+1) all my tests for Chrome passed.
If I run them now they fail.
Not all the actions fail, only the ones using an iFrame. Also when I try to record for example a button in the iFrame, it will record a click with repository item domain and not repository item button.

I've updated my chrome version to 46, but it's not a solution.

Firefox and IE no problems.

Thanks
Tim

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: All of a sudden Objects are not recognized in Chrome.

Post by Support Team » Wed Nov 25, 2015 3:42 pm

Hi TimRo,

as discuessed by email. Please start your chrome browser using the --disable-web-security flag

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe" --disable-web-security

Additionally, please ensure that the "Continue running background apps when Google Chrome is closed" option is disabled in the Chrome Advanced Settings.

Regards,
Markus (S)
.
Image

gilbar16
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 6:23 pm

Re: All of a sudden Objects are not recognized in Chrome.

Post by gilbar16 » Mon Dec 14, 2015 6:46 pm

Support Team wrote:Hi TimRo,

as discuessed by email. Please start your chrome browser using the --disable-web-security flag

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe" --disable-web-security

Additionally, please ensure that the "Continue running background apps when Google Chrome is closed" option is disabled in the Chrome Advanced Settings.

Regards,
Markus (S)

Hi Markus,

Can this option of disabling web security flag be done outside of the command prompt?
Once set, does this stay permanently or it will go away once you reboot/restart your PC?
We have very tight security process here and web browser settings are usually out of our control; our Security Team has to approve along with our managers/supervisors approval in order for this to happen.

Google doesn't like to put a "Save" button in their Settings screen, I guess.
After disabling the "Continue running background..." option that you mentioned, my guess is it is automatically saved.
Can you please provide a little more details on what this option does and why it should be disabled?

Thanks.
Gilbert

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: All of a sudden Objects are not recognized in Chrome.

Post by Support Team » Wed Dec 16, 2015 1:05 pm

Hi Gilbert,

This setting is only enabled temporarily, so it will be gone after you have closed your Chrome instances.
Also there is unfortunately no other possibility than using the command prompt or creating a shortcut with this flag.
Concerning the “continue running background apps” option
If this option is enabled and you close Chrome, the process will kept running and you will see a small Chrome icon in the notification bar of your desktop.
Disabling this option will ensure that every Chrome process is closed.

Regards,
Markus (S)
.
Image