Android action bar can't be seen by the Ranorex Spy

Mobile Testing, Android App Testing.
chris.quintana
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 8:39 am

Android action bar can't be seen by the Ranorex Spy

Post by chris.quintana » Mon Oct 05, 2015 9:01 am

Hi Guys,

We're having a problem when recording an Android mobile application which has an action bar on top. We are trying to do a Record-and-Play but when we touch the action bar, no action is added in the action grid. And when we tried to View Spy, the action bar is not present.

Do you have any ideas why Ranorex can't identify the action bar?


Thanks!

Chris

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Android action bar can't be seen by the Ranorex Spy

Post by odklizec » Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:36 pm

Hi Chris and welcome here,

Are you sure the "action bar" is a part of your instrumented application? In other words, are you sure it's not something system-owned? Ranorex can automate only instrumented mobile apps! System-owned elements may not be recognized/recorded.

If the action bar is a part of your application, please provide more details about your app (Android version, used dev. technology, libs, etc...). Ideally, send the app to [email protected] so Ranorex folks can analyze it.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

chris.quintana
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 8:39 am

Re: Android action bar can't be seen by the Ranorex Spy

Post by chris.quintana » Wed Oct 07, 2015 3:11 am

Hi odklizec,

Thank you for replying!

Hubert from support helped us with our action bar problem. The thing is, we have a BaseActivity which extends the ActionBarActivity (which is deprecated already) and our application still uses the ActionBarActivity. When we use uiautomatorview to see the elements of the activity, the ActionBar is on the same level of the Form node. What I observed with Ranorex is that it identifies elements inside the Form node.

Can we still select the action bar outside the Form node?

Although, we made a sample application which implements a new Action bar container (which is now residing inside the Form node) is now being identified by Ranorex. We might consider changing our code to the new action bar implementation.


Thanks!

Chris

chris.quintana
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 8:39 am

Re: Android action bar can't be seen by the Ranorex Spy

Post by chris.quintana » Wed Oct 07, 2015 9:34 am

For anybody who stumbles with the same issue as this one.

The fix is to set the Tree simplification to True under the APK Settings. Or on the Deploy APK Action under its Properties section.

Thanks to Hubert for the help!

Cheers!

thilina
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2014 12:32 pm

Re: Android action bar can't be seen by the Ranorex Spy

Post by thilina » Tue May 09, 2017 7:39 am

I faced this issue today after major UI changes in our app.

above solution didn't help since Tree simplification to True by default in wizard.

any other way to solve this issue ?

McTurtle
Posts: 191
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:37 am
Location: Benedikt, Slovenia

Re: Android action bar can't be seen by the Ranorex Spy

Post by McTurtle » Tue May 09, 2017 11:56 am

Hello thilina,

Can you see the element in the Ranorex Spy?
If you can not see the element, then you should try to enable Android OS Automation and check again if the element is now visible. You can find out how to enable Android OS Automation under the following link: Automation of system apps

Please also provide us with the following:
1. More information on the element that you can't interact with.
2. A Ranorex Snapshot of the application: How To Create A Ranorex Snapshot

Regards,
McTurtle

thilina
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2014 12:32 pm

Re: Android action bar can't be seen by the Ranorex Spy

Post by thilina » Fri May 12, 2017 7:22 am

I don't see a node with 'MobileApp AndroidOS' after setting Android OS Automation = True.

can you please help me why it is not showing?

Here is the scapshot of my application screen
ScanScreen.rxsnp
Snapshot
(27.84 KiB) Downloaded 30 times

McTurtle
Posts: 191
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:37 am
Location: Benedikt, Slovenia

Re: Android action bar can't be seen by the Ranorex Spy

Post by McTurtle » Mon May 15, 2017 7:32 am

Hello thilina,

Is this on every version of Android or just on 4.4.3?

There is supposed to be an additional action bar on the top, above "delivery scan"?
Android.png
Android.png (18.51 KiB) Viewed 739 times
Could you also send a snapshot with "Android OS Automation = False"?

Regards,
McTurtle

thilina
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2014 12:32 pm

Re: Android action bar can't be seen by the Ranorex Spy

Post by thilina » Tue Jun 27, 2017 7:55 am

McTurtle wrote:Hello thilina,

1. Is this on every version of Android or just on 4.4.3?

2. There is supposed to be an additional action bar on the top, above "delivery scan"?
The attachment Android.png is no longer available
3. Could you also send a snapshot with "Android OS Automation = False"?

Regards,
McTurtle
1. I tried only with 4.4.3

2. that is the action bar i'm referring to

3. attached
OS_Automation_False.rxsnp
(19.24 KiB) Downloaded 25 times

thilina
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2014 12:32 pm

Re: Android action bar can't be seen by the Ranorex Spy

Post by thilina » Tue Jun 27, 2017 8:36 am

i tried with Android 5.0.1 still the same. not possible to click that button from Ranorex

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Android action bar can't be seen by the Ranorex Spy

Post by odklizec » Tue Jun 27, 2017 8:56 am

Hi,

I'm afraid, without seeing your APK, there is not much anyone here can do. I would suggest to send the APK to Ranorex folks, so they can inspect it and possibly provide a reasonable suggestion.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

thilina
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2014 12:32 pm

Re: Android action bar can't be seen by the Ranorex Spy

Post by thilina » Wed Jun 28, 2017 7:10 am

i can send the APK to Ranorex support, can you PM an E-mail address to send it.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Android action bar can't be seen by the Ranorex Spy

Post by odklizec » Wed Jun 28, 2017 7:38 am

Hi, I already PMed you their address :) Here it is again... [email protected]
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Android action bar can't be seen by the Ranorex Spy

Post by Support Team » Wed Jun 28, 2017 12:53 pm

Hello thilina,

I agree with odklizec, you should send us an email with the APK to the following address [email protected].

Please describe the issue in the ticket once more and don't forget to add the customer ID.

We are looking forward to your email.

Sincerely,
Tomaž
.
Image

thilina
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2014 12:32 pm

Re: Android action bar can't be seen by the Ranorex Spy

Post by thilina » Fri Jun 30, 2017 6:21 am

sent the apk to support, and waiting for reply