Anyone ever used Ranorex for Test-Automation?

Ask general questions here.
johnwalker1

Anyone ever used Ranorex for Test-Automation?

Post by johnwalker1 » Tue Feb 25, 2020 6:28 am

So I started a new position as an Automation Engineer. My background is within Selenium, but I'm honestly tired of the out-dated UI and the effort it requires to maintain selenium, the amount of explaining necessary (for non-QA people), and the belief system that Selenium is the pinnacle in QA Automation.

Selenium is great. It's just not as progressive as I'd like in automated GUI Testing. Or even for regression testing. So, I figured I'd explore some other options. I started a trial for Ranorex, and while it's not cheap...it's a pretty great product and I was curious if anyone else has used both it and Selenium ?

If you have used both, which do you prefer? Why? I'm leaning towards Ranorex at this juncture, even with the cost. But I'd love to hear other opinions.

Thanks!

scrushmaster

Re: Anyone ever used Ranorex for Test-Automation?

Post by scrushmaster » Wed Feb 26, 2020 1:58 am

I like Ranorex as I run QA solo and Selenium is too cumbersome. Selenium is for a larger team with more dev experience on the QA end, it can be better than Ranorex but will take more time to develop and maintain for that extra 20%. Most Selenium projects get outside the framework and become a mess for others to jump into, where Ranorex forces you into at least a semblance of a framework. Both have their place and work well.

odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru

Re: Anyone ever used Ranorex for Test-Automation?

Post by odklizec » Wed Feb 26, 2020 9:04 am

Hi,

I'm extensively using Ranorex, because it covers all required scenarios and platforms (desktop, web and mobile). But I've got a chance to briefly work with Selenium too.