Application Folder in Repository

Ask general questions here.
atom
Posts: 357
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 11:14 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Application Folder in Repository

Post by atom » Mon Jul 20, 2009 12:15 pm

Question: Why is this mandatory?

Basically for each window in the AUT we're going to have a seperate repository
But at the moment we need an Application folder in each repository... not very maintainable as the AUT main form title can change, meaning ALL repositories need to be updated

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Application Folder in Repository

Post by Support Team » Mon Jul 20, 2009 2:57 pm

The application folder is necessary for caching. So if the form title changes during the automation flow, the form will be found anyway. If your main form title changes already on test initialization you can play with the form RxPath and RegEx.

Regards,
Christian
Support Team
.
Image

atom
Posts: 357
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 11:14 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Application Folder in Repository

Post by atom » Mon Jul 20, 2009 7:27 pm

hmm.... ok

The way we do things is to start the AUT we launch a process, get the Process object, and from there get the MainWindowTitle, from this we then get the Ranorex.Form (e.g. /form[@title=....])
We do this as the AUT window title changes depending what child window (its an MDI app) has focus

So really we dont want to hang the repository items off an Application folder, as we never really quite know what its title is. What instead we'd like to do is hang the repository items of the Ranorex.Form object we got when starting the application

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Application Folder in Repository

Post by Support Team » Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:28 am

In most cases you can identify a form which changes his title name in runtime directly with RxPath. The identification level is depending on the application structure.

Please could you attach a Ranorex Snapshot of your MDI-App.

Regards,
Christian
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image