Application freeze

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
cwirek
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 4:24 pm

Application freeze

Post by cwirek » Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:57 pm

I have a problem with testing a .net application (Alior Trader 2 https://aliortrader.pl/install/Alior%20Trader%202.msi)
Ranorex ceases the initialization of the application.
When Ranorex closes after failing to find item to enter the login, the application appears and then it is possible to login.
Error appears once in every twenty test runnings.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Application freeze

Post by Support Team » Tue Jul 17, 2012 3:15 pm

Hi,

I have tried to reproduce the error you described. Actually from time to time your described failure occurred.
I solved the problem the following way:
Sometimes the Alior Trader application needs longer than 1 minute (the default timeout of Ranorex to find operations) to get started. Therefore Ranorex can't find the item for enter the login and closes with a failure.
To avoid this you can do the following:
- Set "the factor that all timeouts of find operations are multiplied with" to a greater value, e.g. 5. This option can be found in the general settings of your recording.
-Or set the "Search Timeout" of the related repository item to a higher value.

Kind regards,
Larissa
.
Image

cwirek
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 4:24 pm

Re: Application freeze

Post by cwirek » Wed Jul 18, 2012 8:53 am

Hi

Unfortunately your solution doesn't work (screenshot)
I set "the default timeout of Ranorex to find operations" to 5, now Ranorex wait for 2,5min.

I think the problem is somewhere else.
When application Alior Trader is starting, the Initialization Screen is appearing - blinking squares
If the error appears, the squares aren't blinking, it looks like Ranorex suspend the Alior Trader application.
Attachments
ATT00001.jpg
ATT00001.jpg (179.85 KiB) Viewed 1026 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Application freeze

Post by Support Team » Wed Jul 18, 2012 12:42 pm

Hi,

If you think that the problem is with Ranorex you can try to add a "Delay" to your recording (right after starting the application). Without this delay Ranorex starts to search for the login directly after starting the application. This may interrupt the application from getting started.

Kind regards,
Larissa
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image