ApplicationNotRespondingException

Ranorex Studio, Spy, Recorder, and Driver.
bwood
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2019 2:52 pm

ApplicationNotRespondingException

Post by bwood » Mon Feb 04, 2019 2:56 pm

Ranorex Version : 8.3.2
OS : Windows 10

Hi,

I am having an issue with Ranorex throwing an ApplicationNotRespondingException when my application is not unresponsive. I have pasted the exact error at the bottom of this post.

I have tried editing the RanorexConfig8.xml file and increasing the functionexecutiontimeout from 5000ms to as high as 100000ms with no apparent changes (The application still "stops responding" within 5 seconds).

The applicationNotRespondingException always occurs at the beginning of the same recording module, and does not occur when I run the module individually, only when I run multiple modules.




at Ranorex.Core.FunctionExecuteWithTimeout.TryExecute[T](Func`1 func, TimeSpan timeout)at Ranorex.Core.FunctionExecuteWithTimeout.WithTimeout[T](Func`1 func, Nullable`1 timeout)at Ranorex.Plugin.ZombieableExtensions.WithZombieCheck[T](IZombieable self, Func`1 function, ZombieCheckOptions options)at Ranorex.Plugin.WpfRemoteObject.GetChildren(TreeBuildConfiguration configuration, WpfRemoteObject apparentParent)at Ranorex.Plugin.WpfChildrenRule.Execute(GlueRuleExecutionState state)at Ranorex.Core.ElementEngine.ApplyGlueRules(Element element, GlueRuleExecutionStateImpl state, Boolean includeRemotes)at Ranorex.Core.ElementEngine.ApplyGlueRules(Element element, Boolean includeRemotes)at Ranorex.Core.Element.GetChildren(CacheSession session)at Ranorex.Core.Element.get_Children()at Ranorex.Core.RxPath.collectAllChildren(Element self, LocationStep step, IList`1 list, Boolean includeSelf, Boolean quitOnFirstGoodNode)at Ranorex.Core.RxPath.collectAxis(LocationStep step, Axis optimizedAxis, Element self, IList`1 elements, Boolean quitOnFirstGoodNode)at Ranorex.Core.RxPath.ApplyInternal(RxPath path, Element startElement, Duration timeout, Boolean findSingle, CacheSession& usedCacheSession)at Ranorex.Core.RxPath.Apply(Element startElement, Duration timeout, Boolean findSingle, CacheSession& usedCacheSession)at Ranorex.Core.Element.TryFindInternal(RxPath path, Duration timeout, Boolean findSingle, IList`1& foundElements, CacheSession& usedCacheSession)at Ranorex.Core.Repository.RepoItemInfo.FindInternal[T](Boolean findSingle, Boolean throwException, Duration effectiveTimeoutOverride)at Ranorex.Core.Repository.RepoItemInfo.<>c__DisplayClass75_0`1.<Find>b__0()at Ranorex.Core.Testing.Services.NoMaintenanceModeService.HandleElementNotFound[T](Func`1 action, RepoItemInfo entry)at Ranorex.Core.Repository.RepoItemInfo.Find[T](Boolean findSingle, Boolean throwException, Duration effectiveTimeoutOverride)at Ranorex.Core.Repository.RepoItemInfo.CreateAdapter[T](Boolean throwException, Duration waitTimeout)at Ranorex.Core.Repository.RepoItemInfo.CreateAdapter[T](Boolean throwException)at Smoke_Tests_Development.SmokeTestsFolders.MeterProgramEditConfigurationFileAppFolder.get_ProgramInformation() in C:\Users\WoodB\Desktop\Smoke_Tests_Development\Smoke_Tests_Development\SmokeTests.cs:line 15495at Smoke_Tests_Development.PROG.E650.EnterPrgmNotesAndPrgmIDForStdConfig.Ranorex.Core.Testing.ITestModule.Run() in C:\Users\WoodB\Desktop\Smoke_Tests_Development\Smoke_Tests_Development\PROG\E650\EnterPrgmNotesAndPrgmIDForStdConfig.cs:line 87at Ranorex.Core.Testing.TestModuleLeaf.RunInternal(DataContext parentDataContext, Int32 iteration, Int32 iterationCount, Boolean skipIteration)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7470
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: ApplicationNotRespondingException

Post by odklizec » Mon Feb 04, 2019 3:19 pm

Hi,

What is the first command in failing module?
Also, I would suggest to try putting the process name of tested app to Ranorex white list.

BTW, I just noticed, that your app is WPF-based and your actual WPF setting in Ranorex is WPFOnly. Have you tried WPFImproved setting?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

bwood
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2019 2:52 pm

Re: ApplicationNotRespondingException

Post by bwood » Mon Feb 04, 2019 5:39 pm

Interestingly, my WPF setting was set to WPFPreferred. I changed it to Improved and it broke several other modules but fixed my issue. Thanks!

Edit: Actually it didn't fix it unfortunately. The commands that are failing are mouse clicks.