Asserting on log file contents from test

Experiences, small talk, and other automation gossip.
Groostav

Asserting on log file contents from test

Post by Groostav » Mon May 02, 2016 8:18 pm

Hey guys,

I'm a dev at a startup and recent purchaser or ranorex. What I would like to do is get our tests to assert on the contents of our applications log files. We're building a desktop java app and thus use java.util.logging (JUL) to generate log files, which can be configured to spit out XML. What I'd like to do is add an assertion step that gets executed frequently (between every step?) that asserts that the contents of the log file do not contain any new log entries at a level greater or equal to WARNING.

A sample XML file from jul:

Code: Select all

<record>
  <date>2014-06-08T13:43:19</date>
  <millis>1402215199326</millis>
  <sequence>0</sequence>
  <logger>com.javacodegeeks.corejava.util.logging.LoggerExample</logger>
  <level>CONFIG</level>
  <class>com.javacodegeeks.corejava.util.logging.HandlerExample</class>
  <method>main</method>
  <thread>1</thread>
  <message>Configuration done.</message>
</record>
<record>
  <date>2014-06-08T13:43:19</date>
  <millis>1402215199376</millis>
  <sequence>1</sequence>
  <logger>com.javacodegeeks.corejava.util.logging.LoggerExample</logger>
  <level>FINE</level>
  <class>com.javacodegeeks.corejava.util.logging.HandlerExample</class>
  <method>main</method>
  <thread>1</thread>
  <message>Finer logged</message>
</record>