Attaching to a browser

Ask general questions here.
suddeepto
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 9:36 am

Attaching to a browser

Post by suddeepto » Tue Jul 28, 2015 9:44 am

Hi,

My question, Is Ranorex able to attach to an already open browser?

The application that I am trying to Automate is a desktop application, however, some of its' operation happen within a browser, which is opened by clicking a button on the desktop application. How do I automate this application using Ranorex.

Thanks in advance,

Sudeepto.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Attaching to a browser

Post by odklizec » Wed Jul 29, 2015 12:46 pm

Hi,

The advantage of Ranorex is that it can seamlessly automate all kind of apps, so there should be no problem doing desktop and web-based automation in the same recording/test case. Once the required elements are stored in repository, you can do whatever you want with them. Have you tried to record your test actions?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

CookieMonster
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 7:17 pm
Location: CH

Re: Attaching to a browser

Post by CookieMonster » Wed Jul 29, 2015 12:47 pm

Hi Sudeepto,

For e.g. what you can do is:
Use a Ranorex XPath on your repository item /dom[@domain~'myDomain' and ChildIndex='0']
or use the Host.Local.Find() method over a UserCode Module.

Regards
Dan