Automating a checklistbox (multicolumn list with tickmarks)

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
conradb

Automating a checklistbox (multicolumn list with tickmarks)

Post by conradb » Tue Apr 26, 2016 3:19 pm

I have a WPF application (actually an MMC snapin) and need to toggle a listbox item. I'm still very new to the tool, and in the role of a maintainer who is trying to fix a test suite after we made a bunch of UI changes.

Here is my control, struggling to "activate" an item which is offscreen.
ranorex insetui.JPG
I uploaded the snapshot to sharefile here : https://citrix.sharefile.com/d-sb536c1db07947b9b

Basically there is a item off the bottom of the visible list which I need to turn on (toggle). I'm keen to do this without writing any user-code. And since my limited experience tells me that the checklistbox customization of the multicolumn lsitbox is pretty common. In fact I'm pretty sure that an multi-column listbox is the same problem kind.

I have once or twice managed to script it so that I am able to "activate" the correct item in the list so that it becomes visible, and then to toggle it, but when I re-run the app, the xpath path I have has not been generalised (shortened) and the tool cannot find the control because it has moved slightly.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
pros:Powershell automation guru
cons:UI automation hacker/n00b
Conrad Braam

odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru

Re: Automating a checklistbox (multicolumn list with tickmarks)

Post by odklizec » Tue Apr 26, 2016 3:59 pm

Hi,