Automating on VM application while running Ranorex on host?

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
kmck
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 2:41 pm

Automating on VM application while running Ranorex on host?

Post by kmck » Fri Jul 12, 2013 2:45 pm

I am running a Windows 2008 R2 SP1 VM through VirtualBox, and my host computer (which is running Ranorex) is Windows 7 Pro. I have a server application running on Windows 2008 and a client application running on the host, and would like to automate through the server while validating receipt of info/commands from server on the client side.

When I tried recording the server commands, it would not use object identification. It would use location-based recording instead (so if I moved the application, it would click into the application in the wrong place).

Is there a way that I can accomplish this kind of testing? Any plugins?

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Automating on VM application while running Ranorex on host?

Post by krstcs » Fri Jul 12, 2013 3:18 pm

You have to have Ranorex installed on the SERVER VM, in order for Ranorex to be able to identify the objects.

This also means you will need another license for the server install.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Automating on VM application while running Ranorex on host?

Post by Support Team » Tue Jul 16, 2013 3:42 pm

Hi,

Here is an additional link to the page about how to remotely work with Ranorex there you will find additional information about the topic: Remotely Working with Ranorex.

Regards,
Markus
.
Image