Bat file never fails but studio execution is failing

Ask general questions here.
csolanki
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 8:51 am

Bat file never fails but studio execution is failing

Post by csolanki » Thu Jun 21, 2018 9:58 am

Hi Team,

I have come across with a very strange problem in my test suite. when I run it over bat file for like multiple times, test suite is not failing even once but when I try the same in Ranorex Studio I mean normal execution through studio, its failing at some or the other point every time.

I am not able to figure out the reason, can you help ?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3937
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Bat file never fails but studio execution is failing

Post by odklizec » Thu Jun 21, 2018 10:19 am

Hi,

I'm afraid, there is not enough information about the problem, to provide a reasonable answer. Could you please post, what error exactly you getting? And what are the steps before failing action?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

csolanki
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 8:51 am

Re: Bat file never fails but studio execution is failing

Post by csolanki » Thu Jun 21, 2018 10:50 am

More information is :

Ranorex version : 8.1.2
Execution OS : windows

I feel, Failed cases and errors will not be worth mentioning to make you identify the problem. but yes one thing can, Say like I have to select from a dropdown field name country "US". So, when I am running this test case on Bat file (in which I have mentioned .exe of particular solution), it passes. While on other side when I run it on Ranorex studio it fails. Like such I got so many scenarios of drop down failure.

csolanki
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 8:51 am

Re: Bat file never fails but studio execution is failing

Post by csolanki » Thu Jun 21, 2018 11:12 am

Hey, I got the solution. Thanks for your support. :)

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3937
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Bat file never fails but studio execution is failing

Post by odklizec » Thu Jun 21, 2018 11:46 am

Good to hear that! This happens to me as well. Almost immediately I post a question here, I find the answer myself ;)

BTW, could you please share your solution? It may help someone else with similar problem. Thanks.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

csolanki
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 8:51 am

Re: Bat file never fails but studio execution is failing

Post by csolanki » Thu Jun 21, 2018 12:02 pm

Sure, I did enable to fail for few fields. So, when I disabled it. It passes perfectly now in Ranorex Studio as well as in Bat. Nowhere relevant but dont know worked for me.

Thanks.