Been asking for this feature for a long time now...

Ask general questions here.
carsonw
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 10:01 pm

Been asking for this feature for a long time now...

Post by carsonw » Thu Jun 18, 2015 5:35 pm

I've asked in seminars, via email and possibly on the board as well, I can't remember.

But I'm asking again. Admittedly something of a work around was offered a year or two ago, but that was at a different company and the code has been lost to me. It would be preferable to have a baked in piece of code anyway.

Here is my scenario, I can't imagine it's that uncommon:

I have a test that's very large, it takes about 4 hours to run. It's 400 iterations. In this case, the test started at 12:23p. According to the logs there was a failure at 2:43p - how do I find the corresponding test?

This should be trivial, but with Ranorex it's prohibitively difficult, and it should not be. This should be basic reporting functionality.

If you look at the test summaries, each line only shows you the duration of the test iteration itself (it's debatable how useful that is). So I have to expand all four hundred tests, look at the time for each of them, and then do some time based math in my head adding the start time, to the time in the test to try and estimate what it is. This seems silly to me.

There's no easy way to line up a time in an event log, or other log with your test. If a developer says to me, did your test fail at the time we see the log failure I can't quickly (or even that easily) answer that question because our tool doesn't show the time the test executed.

I feel foolish saying that. I've brought Ranorex to two companies now and this feels like a real fundamental flaw in the reporting that should easily be fixed. It seems like a case where the product isn't being used in a real world scenario by those who develop it.

Apologies if my rant seems harsh, but it's a point of frustration for me, I hope that this simple feature can be implemented so events can easily be lined up with test results in the future - I don't want to have to tell developers or business people I'm not sure which test caused the failure because the time isn't displayed on the report (or take a whole bunch of time to figure that out).

Thanks for considering my request.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Been asking for this feature for a long time now...

Post by Support Team » Fri Jun 19, 2015 3:54 pm

Hi carsonw,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we are very sorry for the inconvenience this have caused.

When I got it correctly you want to shown the real time (machine time) instead of the duration in the report, right?
If so, this feature should be part of Ranorex 5.4, which should be released in the next weeks.

Regards,
Markus
.
Image

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Been asking for this feature for a long time now...

Post by odklizec » Fri Jun 19, 2015 4:16 pm

Hi Markus,

While I understand Corson's arguments about displaying machine time in reports, I, on the other hand, hope that this addition in 5.4 will be optional? ;) I personally prefer actual duration values in reports, which allows me to quickly recognize if some tests run slower.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Been asking for this feature for a long time now...

Post by Support Team » Mon Jun 22, 2015 4:24 pm

Hi odklizec,

Yes, this will be optional.
There will be different options ;).

Regards,
Markus
.
Image

carsonw
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 10:01 pm

Re: Been asking for this feature for a long time now...

Post by carsonw » Mon Jun 29, 2015 5:16 pm

Support Team wrote:Hi carsonw,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we are very sorry for the inconvenience this have caused.

When I got it correctly you want to shown the real time (machine time) instead of the duration in the report, right?
If so, this feature should be part of Ranorex 5.4, which should be released in the next weeks.

Regards,
Markus
Just to be clear - I attached a screen with a red box showing where I was hoping to see the time. This will allow fast scrolling through tests when trying to locate a specific test run time. The orange would be where the iteration would start, the red would always be the same value as the orange, right... and the yellow would be the report entry time when precision is needed.


Thanks very much!
Attachments
Screens.jpg
Screens.jpg (140.31 KiB) Viewed 1066 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Been asking for this feature for a long time now...

Post by Support Team » Thu Jul 02, 2015 4:07 pm

Hi carsonw,

Thank you for getting back to us.

I am afraid my explanation was too imprecise, with Ranorex 5.4 we added a setting to change the format of the Timestamp. We use the term timestamp for the logged time next to the actions of a module.
This means that just the format of the yellow marked time can be changed to machine time.
But please be assured that the feature request about changing the other time to the machine time format as well was already forwarded.

In the meantime we can offer two easy workarounds which would allow you to change all the marked time to the machine time format. How this can be done, can be seen here: Timestamps in Report instead of duration.

Thank you for your understanding.

Regards,
Markus
.
Image