Best strategy for similar tests?

Experiences, small talk, and other automation gossip.
BCTest
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 10:15 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Best strategy for similar tests?

Post by BCTest » Mon Aug 18, 2014 1:25 pm

Hello,

what would be the best strategy for testing one app in different editions with similar features. Our app has some features only available in special editions. Most of the GUI is in each edition the same but some dialogs are different. Also some dialogs are only available in one particular edition. We want to test each version with one test, what will be the best solution to use the same recording for each edition and only the special recordings in the suitable edition? To avoid changes in many solutions it would be great to have only one test-solution which specializes on each edition by command line-param.

Regards,
ThN.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Best strategy for similar tests?

Post by Support Team » Wed Aug 20, 2014 3:37 pm

Hello BCTest,

I could imagine a test structure as depicted below:
TestSuiteStructure.png
TestSuiteStructure.png (14.46 KiB) Viewed 1023 times
Each version of your application is tested within a separate TestCase. The ’CommonRecording’ can be re-used within each TestCase (marked red). The SpecialDialogRecording’s are pretty self-explanatory, they cover version specific dialogs and so on.

You can call each TestCase (aka. Version) via the command line using the ‘/tc’ –argument. Further information about Command Line Arguments can be found here:
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... html#c3022

Hope this information helps you.

Regards,
Robert
.
Image

BCTest
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 10:15 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Best strategy for similar tests?

Post by BCTest » Fri Aug 22, 2014 2:59 pm

Thanks for the answer.
I'm certain your suggestion will work. I used a different solution: global params which can be set in command line or in studio. So the test can be done by command line and by studio (while developing):
GlobalParam.png
Global Param
GlobalParam.png (15.68 KiB) Viewed 1010 times
Usercode

Code: Select all

if (string.Compare(TestSuite.Current.Parameters["Variante"], "SQL", true) == 0)
{
// Do something
}
Probably not the best solution but it works.

Regards,
Thomas.