Bindings missing out for TestSuites

Bug reports.
puniar
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 12:51 pm

Bindings missing out for TestSuites

Post by puniar » Mon Dec 09, 2019 12:49 pm

Hi,
Our team has been facing a problem over Data Binding wherein the Test Data Bindings are being lost. We have 2 solutions where one contains all the TestSuites and the other all the Recording modules and Repository. The DLL from the Recording modules are used as a reference in the Test Suites.
The scenarios we've come across so far where this issue occurs is listed down:

1. Changing any recording module name unbinds all the test data from the test suite once we load the Test Suite solution
2. Sometimes though the test data and the modules are intact the data bindings are lost once the solution is built using the Studio. This is for a freshly cloned copy of the repository.

Any reasons of why this behavior where he bindings are being lost?

Operating System: Windows 10, 1803
Ranorex Version: 9.1
Regards,
Punith

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6037
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Bindings missing out for TestSuites

Post by odklizec » Mon Dec 09, 2019 1:05 pm

Hi,

At first, you are using an outdated version of Ranorex, which is over 6 months old. There were released 4 more versions since 9.1, which fixed many Ranorex bugs, including some data-connector related issues. So you should definitely update your existing version with most recent one and try to reproduce the issue again.

If the issue is still reproducible with 9.2.1, please contact Ranorex support, via support form available here:
https://www.ranorex.com/support-query/

In my opinion, this kind of issue is nothing that could be solved via this forum. Support guys will most probably need to see the solution (all of them) and more detailed steps how to reproduce the problem. Therefore, it's better to contact support directly via the support form and provide as much details as possible.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

puniar
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 12:51 pm

Re: Bindings missing out for TestSuites

Post by puniar » Mon Dec 09, 2019 1:11 pm

Thanks Pavel,

Yes, I'd tried with the Latest version of Ranorex and the issue persist over there as well.
And I would take it up with the Support Team.

Thanks again.
Regards,
Punith