Breakpoints not being hit

Class library usage, coding and language questions.
seurrep
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2018 10:19 am

Breakpoints not being hit

Post by seurrep » Tue Nov 05, 2019 4:50 pm

What reasons are there for breakpoints not being hit?

Are there any log files I can check to see what's going on? If so where would I find them and what sort of thing would I be looking for? Is there anything else to check for? I'm running in debug as opposed to release BTW.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5256
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Breakpoints not being hit

Post by odklizec » Tue Nov 05, 2019 5:05 pm

Hi,

Are you sure you have enabled debug mode (the “bug” button in main toolbar must be blue)...
https://www.ranorex.com/help/latest/ran ... edebugmode
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

seurrep
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2018 10:19 am

Re: Breakpoints not being hit

Post by seurrep » Tue Nov 05, 2019 5:30 pm

I've tried reinstalling Ranorex but this hasn't helped. I still get breakpoints that get ignored.

seurrep
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2018 10:19 am

Re: Breakpoints not being hit

Post by seurrep » Tue Nov 05, 2019 5:33 pm

odklizec wrote:
Tue Nov 05, 2019 5:05 pm
Hi,

Are you sure you have enabled debug mode (the “bug” button in main toolbar must be blue)...
https://www.ranorex.com/help/latest/ran ... edebugmode
D'oh. A PEBKAC moment it seems. That fixed it. Thanks for the help.

Out of curiosity where does that setting get stored? I was modifying what was being stored in bitbucket earlier and I'm wondering if the two are related.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5256
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Breakpoints not being hit

Post by odklizec » Wed Nov 06, 2019 11:06 am

Hi,

I'm glad to hear it helped ;) This setting is stored in RanorexConfig9.xml, which you can find here:
C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration