Browsing values of class com.klg.jclass.table.CellArea

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
rka
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 7:54 am

Browsing values of class com.klg.jclass.table.CellArea

Post by rka » Fri Aug 28, 2015 9:00 am

Hi there,

I have a table consisting of two times the type com.klg.jclass.table.CellArea. The first element is the header of the table, the second element has the data. These elements themselves are children of JavaUtilities.components.spantable.SpanTable.

I want to read out the column names of the first CellArea object and I want to read out the values of the second CellArea object.

Getting the elements with the spy shows that there are no children inside of the CellArea objects.
The only possibility to get values from the data table is to browse via keyboard to a cell and copy its value to the clipboard. I haven't found any possibility to read the column names of the header CellArea.

The column names aren't listed either in the Overview tab or the Advanced tab of the spy. So I don't know how to handle this object correctly.

Do you have any idea?

Btw.: I tried to upload the Snapshot of the element. I was surprised that the snapshot of the header element took very long to produce and needs > 3MB. So I cannot upload it here. I will send it via email with a link to this thread.

Best regards,
Rafael.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Browsing values of class com.klg.jclass.table.CellArea

Post by odklizec » Fri Aug 28, 2015 9:09 am

Hi Rafael,

It would be much easier to help with snapshot. You can reduce the size of snapshot by unchecking the option "Let snapshot contain complete ancestor subtree"...
RxSettings.png
RxSettings.png (88.53 KiB) Viewed 1101 times
Then try to create the snapshot again (compressed rxzlog), but make sure it contains all relevant tables/cells! It may be required to select some parent element to have all required elements saved in snapshot.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

rka
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 7:54 am

Re: Browsing values of class com.klg.jclass.table.CellArea

Post by rka » Fri Aug 28, 2015 9:30 am

Ok thank you for the hint.
I changed the checkbox and here is the snapshot of the header element again.
Attachments
com.klg.jclass.table.CellArea.1.rxsnp
(132.05 KiB) Downloaded 83 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Browsing values of class com.klg.jclass.table.CellArea

Post by odklizec » Fri Aug 28, 2015 9:49 am

OK, What you should try first is to update your Ranorex 5.4.0 with latest 5.4.1. It may not help with your particular problem, but there are some critical bug fixes in 5.4.1. Unfortunately, there are still some Java-related bugs left.
Then you can try to use GDI Capture List, as described here:
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... tions.html
It seems you will have to add main Form to the list...
GDICaptureList.png
GDICaptureList.png (23.24 KiB) Viewed 1099 times
If you are lucky, you may be able to access the CellArea texts with RawText elements. They are not so easy and reliable to use (especially with complex GUI), but definitely better than image-based automation ;)

Another possibility you might try is to play with Java-related settings, but I think the SWT related-settings will not help you with your swing-based element...
Settings.png
Settings.png (27.25 KiB) Viewed 1099 times
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

rka
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2015 7:54 am

Re: Browsing values of class com.klg.jclass.table.CellArea

Post by rka » Tue Sep 01, 2015 9:35 am

Ok, I updated to v5.4.1 and activated the GDI capture addon on the Form element. I tracked the CellArea Elements again, but with no luck: They are still empty and no RawText Elements were added.

I also tried changing the Java Plugin Settings for SWT Elements, but as you said, it didn't help.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Browsing values of class com.klg.jclass.table.CellArea

Post by odklizec » Tue Sep 01, 2015 9:51 am

So I'm afraid, you are probably out of luck then? You will have to ask developer behind the problematic element to implement proper accessibility.

BTW, there is still a very little chance it's caused by a java-related bug in Ranorex. As mentioned, there are still some known Java-related bugs left in 5.4.1. So the last thing you might try is to install older version of Ranorex (the best would be 5.3.3) and try to examine the problematic element with 5.3.3 Spy.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration