BUG: IE 11 - various elements showing as invalid

Bug reports.
krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

BUG: IE 11 - various elements showing as invalid

Post by krstcs » Wed Jun 04, 2014 6:44 pm

Ranorex 5.0.3
Windows 7 x86 (VM)
IE 11

During test runs I am intermittently getting the following exception from Ranorex and my test fails:
Module execution was aborted because a validation step has failed. Element for item '<Various Elements>' does not exist (element is not valid).
Show/Hide Stacktrace

at Ranorex.Validate.IsTrueInternal(Boolean condition, String message, Options options, RepoItemInfo itemInfo)
at Ranorex.Validate.Exists(RepoItemInfo itemInfo, String message, Options options)
at Ranorex.Validate.Exists(RepoItemInfo itemInfo)
at TCS_WEB_CORE.Validation.Validate_Header_and_Footer.Ranorex.Core.Testing.ITestModule.Run()
in d:\QA_Jenkins\QA-Build-Ranorex-TCS_WEB\workspace\TCS_WEB\TCS_WEB_CORE\Validation\Validate_Header_and_Footer.cs:line 220
at Ranorex.Core.Testing.TestSuiteModule.RunInternal(DataContext parentDataContext)
This same test running on other VMs and browsers (FF, Chrome, IE 8/9/10) works just fine, the only problem is IE11.

The interesting thing is that there is NO line 220 in the file stated (Validate_Header_and_Footer.cs), it only goes up to 114.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: BUG: IE 11 - various elements showing as invalid

Post by Support Team » Fri Jun 06, 2014 3:38 pm

Hi krstcs,

Unfortunately we are not aware of such an issue.
Is it possible for you to provide some additional information about the problem?
Please describe the steps you performed in detail.

This will help us to reproduce the issue on our side and to find a possible solution.

Thank you,

Markus (S)
.
Image

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: BUG: IE 11 - various elements showing as invalid

Post by krstcs » Mon Jun 09, 2014 1:49 pm

Well, that would be a problem because, as I said in my original post, it happens intermittently and at different places in the tests.

Since it is only happening on IE11 and nothing else (not even Chrome/FF on the same system), I would guess that this is an issue with the Ranorex IE11 extension. For some reason the extension is marking things that are still valid as being invalid.

All I am doing is calling a validation step in this case, but in others this error has popped up when trying to interact with something. The validation seems to be where most of the issues pop up, but not all of them. No user code, no special .NET structures or functionality, just straight Ranorex calls.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: BUG: IE 11 - various elements showing as invalid

Post by Support Team » Thu Jun 12, 2014 2:14 pm

Hi krstcs,

Thank you for reporting the issue. I tried to reproduce the issue on my machines using your website, but unfortunately I didn't get the message. Is there a specific html element maybe within an iframe where the error occurs. Can you tell me what I can do in order to get the message?
Thank you.

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: BUG: IE 11 - various elements showing as invalid

Post by krstcs » Thu Jun 12, 2014 3:10 pm

The element that this seems to happen on the most is in a frame (not an iframe, I've checked and there are none in the direct path), but that frame is not visible (nor is the element). I'm only checking for Exists, and the element does exist. Since it happens on some runs and not others, this shouldn't be the issue. If it is going to fail, it should fail every time if it was the frame and not visible issues. The element path in this particular instance is (indented to show parent structures):

Code: Select all

/dom[@domain=$domain and @state='complete']
  //div[#'bodyContentContainer']
    //div[#'header']
      //div[#'bottomControls']
        /div/a[@innertext~'LOCATIONS' and @href~'/locations/index.htm']/parent::div
          /formtag[#'navigationLocationSearchForm']
            /input[#'navigationZipCode']
Take a look at our site and you will see that this is an element that requires mouse-over of the parent div of the formtag. I am adding a mouse-over to the validation module, just in case that is the problem, but since I am only validating exists it shouldn't matter.

Again, this doesn't happen on every run, and it only happens on IE11 (occasionally). I don't believe it's a timing issue either, as I wait for the page to complete loading before doing any validations (and this element is the tenth one validated in the recording module). If it was timing I would think that I should be having the issue on other systems as well.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: BUG: IE 11 - various elements showing as invalid

Post by Support Team » Fri Jun 13, 2014 1:26 pm

Hi krstcs,

Thank you for the description. I made a few tests, but didn't get the message until now. I will continue testing and get back to you if I could reproduce the issue.

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image