Bug in 9.0.1? (after upgrading from 8.2): @innertext~

Ask general questions here.
martinacceo
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 2:17 pm

Bug in 9.0.1? (after upgrading from 8.2): @innertext~

Post by martinacceo » Thu May 02, 2019 6:26 pm

Hello,

Many of our scripts do not work anymore after upgrading from 8.2 to 9.0.1.

Example:

Version 8.2 (Working): //tbody[#'tbody_l_com_gateway_domain_Terminal']//a[@innertext~'Auto']
In 9.0.1 not working anymore

If I track the object I have this:
//tbody[#'tbody_l_com_gateway_domain_Terminal']//a[@innertext='Autoterm_778mdb']

Is this a known issue? If yes is there a fix on the way?

Thank you
Martin

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11963
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Bug in 9.0.1? (after upgrading from 8.2): @innertext~

Post by Support Team » Thu May 02, 2019 7:05 pm

Hi Martin,

The first RxPath is more robust by using ~"Auto". This RxPath it will find the element as long as the innertext contains Auto. The second RxPath is a little more rigid in that the innertext must be Autoterm_778mdb exactly. I suspect the end of the innertext ("778mdb") may be dynamic and change each time you load this page. If this is true, the first RxPath is better as it will work even if the inner text is changing frequently (but always contains "Auto").

If you continue to experience issues, please add a Create Snapshot action directly before the failure point (targetting the root dom for the required repository item), run you test until it fails (do not force stop, let it fail naturally), and provide the resulting compressed report. With this, we will be able to better understand your environment and issue.

I hope this helps!

Cheers,
Ned
.
Image

martinacceo
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 2:17 pm

Re: Bug in 9.0.1? (after upgrading from 8.2): @innertext~

Post by martinacceo » Thu May 02, 2019 8:17 pm

Not quite sure I understand your response.

With version 8.2 I was using this:
a[@innertext~'Auto']

This was working fine to get the first item in the table.

I upgraded to Ranorex 9.0.1, and the script got upgraded with no errors1 It now fails and it does not work anymore. Because it cannot find the item. So this way does not seem to work anymore : a[@innertext~'Auto']

So that's why I am asking if this a bug? Or you changed the way it works... ?

Thanks
Martin

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11963
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Bug in 9.0.1? (after upgrading from 8.2): @innertext~

Post by Support Team » Thu May 02, 2019 8:45 pm

Hi Martin,

There are no known issues related to this that I am aware of. Are you able to provide the requested compressed Ranorex report containing a Ranorex Snapshot? At the very least, a Ranorex Snapshot will be required to better understand what may be occurring.

Looking forward to your response!

Regards,
Ned
.
Image