BUG: Ranorex 4.1 causing display problems with OpenGL

Bug reports.
Gav
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 10:52 am

BUG: Ranorex 4.1 causing display problems with OpenGL

Post by Gav » Fri Sep 06, 2013 11:52 am

Hi there,

We have an application that contains child OpenGL windows which render images using a 3rd party library called OpenInventor. We rely heavily on Ranorex to validate the images shown in the OpenGL windows. However, since upgrading to 4.1, each time Ranorex attempts to access the application via Spy or the test recordings, the display is corrupted, meaning screenshots can't be validated. Using a different tool to access the UI elements does not cause this display issue, e.g. UISpy.

When accessed using UISpy, the display remains correct:
UISpy.png
UISpy.png (541.33 KiB) Viewed 1367 times
When using Ranorex Spy, the display is corrupted and various parts of the parent UI are repeated in the display area:
Ranorex Spy.png
Ranorex Spy.png (174.33 KiB) Viewed 1367 times
Please help!

Many thanks,

Gav Warrender

Gav
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 10:52 am

Re: BUG: Ranorex 4.1 causing display problems with OpenGL

Post by Gav » Tue Sep 10, 2013 8:59 am

Hi there,

Does anyone have any thoughts on this problem?

Gav

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: BUG: Ranorex 4.1 causing display problems with OpenGL

Post by Support Team » Tue Sep 10, 2013 3:22 pm

Hello Gav,

We have introduced a new "background" screenshot capturing method with Ranorex 4.1
(which is also used in Spy by default). This might interfere with your OpenGL application refreshing.
Please try to turn off "Use hidden screenshot capturing" in Settings/Advanced tab.
Alternatively, switching off Desktop Composition ("Aero") also causes the feature to be deactivated.

Michael
Ranorex Team
.
Image

Gav
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 10:52 am

Re: BUG: Ranorex 4.1 causing display problems with OpenGL

Post by Gav » Wed Sep 11, 2013 9:02 am

Thanks, Michael.

We've rolled back to 4.0.6 for the time being, but I will try these alternative settings when we upgrade to 4.1 again.

Gav