BUG: Ranorex displays incorrect value during debugging

Bug reports.
carsonw
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 10:01 pm

BUG: Ranorex displays incorrect value during debugging

Post by carsonw » Thu Jan 23, 2014 11:26 pm

I thought I posted about this once, but maybe I've not. I've attached the only convenient example I have, though I can find more if it's really necessary.

This has cost more than one of us hours of wasted time because Ranorex is showing the INCORRECT value in the debugger during runtime. We wasted so much time trying to figure out what we did wrong, finally we wrote the value to the report and saw that it was what we expected, just the debugger was wrong.

In the attached example, if I delve further into the private values of the properties, I can find the correct value. However, depending on the complexity of the object, its properties and perhaps some other variables that I can't think of right now, you cannot find the right value you must output it to the report.

That's really unacceptable. If I do the same process in VS, it will evaluate the properties correctly.
Attachments
Bad debugger.jpg
Bad debugger.jpg (86.52 KiB) Viewed 803 times

carsonw
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 10:01 pm

Re: BUG: Ranorex displays incorrect value during debugging

Post by carsonw » Thu Jan 23, 2014 11:31 pm

I should add that sometimes evaluating properties will cause Ranorex to just stop. It doesn't appear to have crashed, it behaves similar to if I had hit stop on the execution.

So if you are drilling down in your properties you may end up with Ranorex just stopping the test.

User avatar
mebner
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 6:42 pm

Re: BUG: Ranorex displays incorrect value during debugging

Post by mebner » Mon Jan 27, 2014 2:24 pm

Hi,

We are very sorry for the inconvenience this have caused.

In order to reproduce the issue, can you tell us of what type the forwardLineItem is, or can you see the issue with other types too?
Does it just happen when you set the value right before you analyze it?

Thanks,
Markus

carsonw
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 10:01 pm

Re: BUG: Ranorex displays incorrect value during debugging

Post by carsonw » Mon Jan 27, 2014 6:13 pm

forwardLineItem is just a class to hold data and nothing else, so all it is a collection of properties.

I'll get back to you on when it occurs, and I'm trying to find additional examples of this (by drilling down you can find the correct value, but I've seen examples where this is not possible, I'm trying to find those).

carsonw
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 10:01 pm

Re: BUG: Ranorex displays incorrect value during debugging

Post by carsonw » Mon Jan 27, 2014 6:18 pm

Ok here's another example:

Another class containing only properties and one of those properties is an enum.

The enum value is set... when you evaluate it will show the default value of the enum, NOT the actual value that you set.

User avatar
mebner
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 6:42 pm

Re: BUG: Ranorex displays incorrect value during debugging

Post by mebner » Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:36 pm

Hi Carson,

I tried to reproduce the issue, but in my case Ranorex Studio showed the right values.
May I therefore ask you to provide a sample project which allows us to reproduce the issue on our machines?
This would be great :)!

Thanks,
Markus