BUG: Red X in progress dialog after long text output

Bug reports.
krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

BUG: Red X in progress dialog after long text output

Post by krstcs » Thu Aug 27, 2015 6:11 pm

Ranorex 5.4.1
Windows 7

After reporting a long string of text to the report, the output dialog starts displaying a red 'X' where the text normally is. This continues through the rest of the test so there is no way to know what is going on in the test modules any more after this.

This worked fine in 5.3.2 (my last version before 5.4.1).

To recreate:
1. Create a module with a Report entry with a long string of text (in my case it was 69 lines with 1964 characters, including white-space).
2. Put the module in a test suite before other modules.
3. Run the test suite.

Progress dialog will show Red 'X', as in attached screenshot, for the rest of the test run.
Attachments
Red X in Progress Dialog.png
Red X in Progress Dialog.png (68.88 KiB) Viewed 1581 times
Shortcuts usually aren't...

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: BUG: Red X in progress dialog after long text output

Post by Support Team » Fri Aug 28, 2015 1:17 pm

Hello Kelly,

Unfortunately, we are not able to reproduce the mentioned behavior.
May I ask you to send a small sample solution to [email protected] for further analyzes?

Thank you in advance.

Regards,
Robert
.
Image

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: BUG: Red X in progress dialog after long text output

Post by krstcs » Fri Aug 28, 2015 5:22 pm

OK, it happens EVERY TIME in the test that was created before upgrading to 5.4.1, but with a new demo test in 5.4.1, I can't reproduce it.

Also, it seems that it isn't directly related to the amount of text or number of lines. It happens just after that in my test, on a Validate.IsTrue(boolVariable). It MIGHT be the combination of things, but, again, I can't repro in a new demo solution without putting the whole method in (which I can't do).

The code is like this in the existing test:

Code: Select all

//The long text is printed here from another method call (can't paste it here, sorry)

bool sequenceEqual = availableNames.SequenceEqual(names); // returns true

// There is an if() block in here for failures that isn't run in this case, so isn't the cause

Report.Info("Validating that the two lists are equal.");
Validate.IsTrue(sequenceEqual); // This causes the red X every time in my code
I narrowed it down by putting break points in and walking up the code with one break at a time.


When I do the same thing in the new project it doesn't make the red X.

Code: Select all

bool isTrue = true;
bool isFalse = false;

Report.Info("Validating isTrue is true.");
Validate.IsTrue(isTrue);

Report.Info("Validating isFalse is NOT true.");
Validate.IsTrue(!isFalse);
All work in 5.4.1 with a new project.


So, you guys tell me what else you want me to do, because I'm at a dead end, and I don't really have time to spend debugging Ranorex.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: BUG: Red X in progress dialog after long text output

Post by Support Team » Mon Aug 31, 2015 11:29 am

Hello Kelly,

May I ask if you could send us the corresponding Ranorex report?

Thank you in advance.

Regards,
Robert
.
Image

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: BUG: Red X in progress dialog after long text output

Post by krstcs » Mon Aug 31, 2015 8:20 pm

Emailed report files to [email protected].
Shortcuts usually aren't...