BUG : repository "disappear" when closing tabs

Bug reports.
Florian
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:57 pm
Location: France (Lyon)
Contact:

BUG : repository "disappear" when closing tabs

Post by Florian » Mon Nov 04, 2013 12:05 pm

Hi,

I've just encountered a weird bug on Ranorex 4.1.2
When I use the middle click on a tab to close it (instead of using the shortcut CTRL+F4), the repository is not linked anymore to the module. Thus all item are blinking and it is written 'Item not found' (see the screenshot).

I don't know if the bug have already been reported.
Attachments
bug_ranorex.PNG
ranorex tab bug
bug_ranorex.PNG (147.41 KiB) Viewed 1993 times

Nono
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 11:19 am

Re: BUG : repository "disappear" when closing tabs

Post by Nono » Mon Nov 04, 2013 12:59 pm

Happened to me as well.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: BUG : repository "disappear" when closing tabs

Post by Support Team » Mon Nov 04, 2013 4:27 pm

Hi,

Thank you for Reporting us this Bug. This bug is already scheduled for the next Ranorex Version, but currently I cannot tell you when we will release this version.
Did it happen only if you use the "Middle Mouse Button" or even if you close it via the context menu or the CRTL+F4 shortcut?

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

Florian
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:57 pm
Location: France (Lyon)
Contact:

Re: BUG : repository "disappear" when closing tabs

Post by Florian » Mon Nov 04, 2013 4:31 pm

Thanks for your answer.

It happens if I use the Middle Mouse Button and if I close it via the context menu (File > Close > File).
If I use the CTRL+F4 shortcut, it works well.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: BUG : repository "disappear" when closing tabs

Post by Support Team » Tue Nov 05, 2013 5:25 pm

Hello Florian,

Thank you for the information.
As Peter wrote, we are working to fix the issue and will provide a fix in one of our next releases.

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

SBrennan777
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 11:07 am

Re: BUG : repository "disappear" when closing tabs

Post by SBrennan777 » Wed Nov 06, 2013 11:23 am

I've had a similar experience this week with Ranorex 4.1.1 where I've attempted to save a newly created module and the repository items for my entire solution have disappeared. My actions have a '(Item not found)' message where the repository item should be and I also have the flashing red exclamation mark.

monkey2012
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 8:15 pm

Re: BUG : repository "disappear" when closing tabs

Post by monkey2012 » Thu Nov 07, 2013 3:06 pm

The whole repository became empty right after closing one of the tab within Ranorex Studio.
Fortunately, exiting Ranorex Studio and opening it again, all the repository items are back.
This is Ranorex 4.1.2

wsun
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 4:35 am

Re: BUG : repository "disappear" when closing tabs

Post by wsun » Fri Nov 08, 2013 4:53 am

Ranorex 4.1.2
Repository missed in all record modules. Have to close all tabs and reopen to work around.
Also, encountered all repository missed issue. Have to revert from the SVN repository and re-add all the missed gui object.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: BUG : repository "disappear" when closing tabs

Post by Support Team » Fri Nov 08, 2013 4:30 pm

Hello all,

At the moment there is a bug in the Ranorex Repository in connection with SVN.
May I ask if all of you (except wsun) are using SVN?
Thank you!

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

Florian
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:57 pm
Location: France (Lyon)
Contact:

Re: BUG : repository "disappear" when closing tabs

Post by Florian » Fri Nov 08, 2013 4:37 pm

I do use SVN to save states of my projects.
Attachments
svn_ranorex.PNG
svn_ranorex.PNG (9.9 KiB) Viewed 1929 times

monkey2012
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 8:15 pm

Re: BUG : repository "disappear" when closing tabs

Post by monkey2012 » Mon Nov 11, 2013 2:13 pm

I use SVN.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: BUG : repository "disappear" when closing tabs

Post by Support Team » Mon Nov 11, 2013 4:18 pm

Hello all,

Thank you for the information.
We are working to fix the bug and will release it as soon as possible. Unfortunately I am not very confident that the bug will be fixed in our next release (4.1.3), but it will be fixed in the following release (4.1.4).

Is it OK for you to use the workaround provided by wsun?
Thank you!

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

Florian
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 12:57 pm
Location: France (Lyon)
Contact:

Re: BUG : repository "disappear" when closing tabs

Post by Florian » Tue Nov 12, 2013 8:37 am

Instead of closing tabs using middle mouse button, I use the other way.
But if I forget and if this issue hapens again, as he said, I simply close the solution and reopen it.

I will wait for the next release :)

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: BUG : repository "disappear" when closing tabs

Post by Support Team » Tue Nov 12, 2013 9:46 am

Hello all,

There is another workaround in order to fix the issue.
Disabling the History tab in Ranorex Studio should also help.

Please open the "Options" dialog in Ranorex Studio (Tools->Options) and disable the "Show history tab for version-controlled files".
Options.png
Options.png (36.52 KiB) Viewed 1896 times
After that please restart Ranorex Studio.
This should also fix the problem.

Regards,
Bernhard
.
Image

AccidentReport
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 2:30 pm

Re: BUG : repository "disappear" when closing tabs

Post by AccidentReport » Wed Jan 29, 2014 4:27 pm

Has this bug been fixed yet?

I have been having this problem for the last couple of weeks. I'm currently on 4.1.1 and unless there's a specific function I need or bug I experience that is fixed I'm not going to upgrade.

I have checked the release notes for 4.1.2, 4.1.3 and 4.1.4 and there is still nothing that appears to be this issue.

Any update?!