Build Ranorex from command line?

Ask general questions here.
User avatar
daa
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 2:01 pm
Location: York, UK
Contact:

Build Ranorex from command line?

Post by daa » Mon Jun 22, 2009 11:45 am

Currently I'm working on the support tools for our test suites, which are compiled into a DLL. This means that I'm constantly switching between projects in Ranorex Studio: change toolset, compile toolset, switch, change & run test code, switch back to toolset, ...

So, can I compile the tools into their DLL from the command line? I can then edit in another editor and just keep Studio on the testing code.
David Allsopp,
Test Automation Engineer, Mitrefinch Ltd.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Build Ranorex from command line?

Post by Support Team » Mon Jun 22, 2009 1:28 pm

Yes, you can build RanorexStudio projects from the command line using MSBuild. Just use the following command:
%systemroot%\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v3.5\MSBuild.exe MyProject.csproj
To compile a solution, you might need to change the file ending of the solution from "rxsln" to "sln", otherwise MSBuild sometimes reports an error.

You can, however, open two instances of RanorexStudio as well and work with those two instances concurrently.

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image