Build - Rebuild

Ask general questions here.
Ahmad
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 7:29 am
Location: Berlin

Build - Rebuild

Post by Ahmad » Wed Sep 30, 2020 10:07 am

Hello all,

What is the difference between "Build" and "Rebuild" solution?
When to click each one? Which changes in the project or solution need build and which need rebuild?

Thank you for your help.

Regards,
Ahmad

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6560
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Build - Rebuild

Post by odklizec » Wed Sep 30, 2020 10:17 am

Hi,

"Build" option should be a faster way of building solution, where Ranorex builds only the projects with changes. "Rebuild", on the other hand, rebuilds entire solution. In case there is only one project in your solution, you may not see any difference regarding speed of build or rebuild.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Stub
Posts: 443
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 1:35 pm

Re: Build - Rebuild

Post by Stub » Wed Sep 30, 2020 11:06 am

And whenever the Ranorex code generation fails to produce the correct output during a normal Build, use the Rebuild operation. Happens so frequently here.

User avatar
Julien Diot
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2019 4:25 pm
Location: Amiens (FR)

Re: Build - Rebuild

Post by Julien Diot » Tue Oct 06, 2020 9:37 am

Hello,

In the case where modifications have been made in a "Datasource", it is better to do a "Rebuild" because I already had the problem that by doing a simple "Build" the modifications were not taken into account.