Can't find licence server issue

Ask general questions here.
FPI
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 2:28 pm

Can't find licence server issue

Post by FPI » Mon Aug 08, 2011 1:55 pm

Hi,

Ran into an odd problem with a single project and the licence server. For some reason, when we try to run our main test project it crashes and the ranorex log says this: "The license server 'f09' could not be contacted. Please check your network connection and make sure the Ranorex License Server is running. "

f09 is where the license server is running and installing the licence on the computer said it was successful. The really strange thing is it only seems to be our main test project and only on 2 computers(which are both located in the same room and used by my boss). One of the other test we have works fine. Other comptuers we have also run the tests fine.

The only difference between the two test is that the one that doesn't work is has a GUI to select test, while the one that works is just a simple command line app.

Any ideas?

All that working and non working computers have:
Win7 Enterprise x64
visual studio 2010 sp1 for building and coding the tests

Thanks,

Alan

User avatar
Ciege
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Can't find licence server issue

Post by Ciege » Mon Aug 08, 2011 4:19 pm

Simple first questions...

From the machines that give the error about not seeing the license server...
1) Can you ping the license server by name and IP address?
2) is your setup in a domain or a workgroup?
3) Just because they are in the same room may not mean much. Are they connected to the same switch?
4) Are you using IPv4 or IPv6?
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

FPI
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 2:28 pm

Re: Can't find licence server issue

Post by FPI » Mon Aug 08, 2011 9:20 pm

1) yep
2) domain
3) yep
4) v4

Thing is, the machines can actually contact the licence server, as I can open the spy on them. But only for one specific set of test do I get that error message. And we've tried re-installing Ranorex, and that didn't help either. Its very odd that the issue is specific to a single set of tests.

Alan

User avatar
Ciege
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Can't find licence server issue

Post by Ciege » Mon Aug 08, 2011 9:33 pm

Hmmm, that is odd...

Are your tests doing anything with the network interface? [changing IP address, en/disabling the NIC, etc...]
Are the machines stable on the network otherwise?
Maybe try disabling the windows built in firewall and/or any 3rd party firewall that may be blocking license server requests.

Hmmm.......
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Can't find licence server issue

Post by Support Team » Tue Aug 09, 2011 7:47 am

Hi,

Could it be that there is no license free on the server when you start you tests? Would it be possible to post us the exact error message you get when this error occurs?

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

FPI
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 2:28 pm

Re: Can't find licence server issue

Post by FPI » Wed Aug 10, 2011 1:36 pm

So, we installed 3.0.5 and now everything works fine.

Patrik
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 2:56 pm

Re: Can't find licence server issue

Post by Patrik » Mon Sep 05, 2011 9:20 am

Hello Support Team,
i have the same problem at the moment - i also have reinstalled version 3.1, but the problem still remains:

I have the following (simple) source:

[STAThread]
public static int Main(string[] args)
{
MessageBox.Show("Pos 1");
IList<Ranorex.Form> lsWindows;
lsWindows= Host.Local.FindChildren<Ranorex.Form>();
MessageBox.Show("Pos 2");
return 0;
}

I can start Ranorex Studio (so the license should be there), but if i start the script, i get the message:

"2011/09/05 10:13:53.864 FAILURE Licensing The license server 'SRP01461WN' could not be contacted. Please check your network connection and make sure the Ranorex License Server is running."

We already restartet the license server - the licenses should be available and i can ping the license server:

Pinging SRP01461WN.xxx.com [XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=125
Reply from XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=125
Reply from XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=125
Reply from XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=125
Ping statistics for XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

when i open the license manager tool i also see that only one license (out of four) is used (because the studio is started on my machine)

The very strange thing is that:
*) I already had the problem on friday - I copied all the sources to a new project, and it worked again - but only for a few hours. Now I get the message again.
*) If I open another project (with normal recording modules) I can execute the test without problems - I go back to this project and get the same error message again ?!

Do you have any ideas ?
Thanks, Patrik

Patrik
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 2:56 pm

Re: Can't find licence server issue

Post by Patrik » Mon Sep 05, 2011 12:51 pm

In the meantime we have found the problem,

the problem occures if the app.config file of the has a wrong structure! We added some entries by ourself, and this causes the problems.

Thanks and best regards,
Patrik