Can't get column header cell if table is null

Bug reports.
alex
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 11:17 am

Can't get column header cell if table is null

Post by alex » Thu Dec 22, 2011 6:58 am

Hi,
I'm using Ranorex 3.2 to test Flex applications. I found this issue as title.
Snapshot has been attached. Please check.

Thanks.
Attachments
table(alldom).rxsnp
the dom object contains table
(338.99 KiB) Downloaded 180 times
table(columnheader).rxsnp
table itself
(147.16 KiB) Downloaded 176 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Can't get column header cell if table is null

Post by Support Team » Thu Dec 22, 2011 1:58 pm

Hi Alex,

that's correct.
In flex it's by design, that theres is now row representing the header.
You have to access the header via the representing column.

Regards,
Tobias
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

alex
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 11:17 am

Re: Can't get column header cell if table is null

Post by alex » Fri Dec 23, 2011 2:50 am

Hi,
You can see from snapshot file. There is no child under column, so I can only get the whole column, not the column header cell.

Regards,
Alex

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Can't get column header cell if table is null

Post by Support Team » Fri Dec 23, 2011 9:30 am

Hi,
alex wrote:...There is no child under column...
yes, there is no child cell.
That's as I said by design.
But the headers text is stored in the attribute name of the column.


Kind regards,
Tobias
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

alex
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 11:17 am

Re: Can't get column header cell if table is null

Post by alex » Fri Dec 23, 2011 11:37 am

Hi Tobias,
But I want to click the header cell, then do something.
How can I do it?

Thanks.
Attachments
clickheader.PNG
clickheader.PNG (8.98 KiB) Viewed 1236 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Can't get column header cell if table is null

Post by Support Team » Fri Dec 23, 2011 11:43 am

Hi,

you can perform a click action on the row with relative coordinates on the header.

Regards,
Tobias
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

alex
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 11:17 am

Re: Can't get column header cell if table is null

Post by alex » Fri Dec 23, 2011 1:08 pm

Support Team wrote:Hi,

you can perform a click action on the row with relative coordinates on the header.

Regards,
Tobias
Ranorex Support Team
How to get header?


By the way, column header cells always exist whether table is null or not. So this is wrong Ranorex provides header cell when table has data, but doesn't when table is null.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Can't get column header cell if table is null

Post by Support Team » Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:32 am

Hi,

To get the header, create a repository item for your header. You can do this by tracking the header with the spy and drag&drop the column from the spy to the repository in Ranorex Studio.
You can also use the Add New Item - Add Item action in Ranorex Studio repository. Your path to the name column should be something like that

Code: Select all

/dom[@domain]/body/flexobject/container/container/container/element/element/container/element/container/container/container/element/container/container/element/container/table/column[@text='Name']
or abbreviate it to

Code: Select all

/dom[@domain]/body/flexobject//table/column[@text='Name']
To create your own actions (click on the item) in the recorder without recording, have a look at the blog about manually generated recordings.

Regards,
Martin
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

alex
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 11:17 am

Re: Can't get column header cell if table is null

Post by alex » Wed Dec 28, 2011 10:43 am

Support Team wrote:Hi,

To get the header, create a repository item for your header. You can do this by tracking the header with the spy and drag&drop the column from the spy to the repository in Ranorex Studio.
You can also use the Add New Item - Add Item action in Ranorex Studio repository. Your path to the name column should be something like that

Code: Select all

/dom[@domain]/body/flexobject/container/container/container/element/element/container/element/container/container/container/element/container/container/element/container/table/column[@text='Name']
or abbreviate it to

Code: Select all

/dom[@domain]/body/flexobject//table/column[@text='Name']
To create your own actions (click on the item) in the recorder without recording, have a look at the blog about manually generated recordings.

Regards,
Martin
Ranorex Support Team

Hi,
I want to get the column header cell rather than all the column.
And as I said in previous response:
By the way, column header cells always exist whether table is null or not. So this is wrong Ranorex provides header cell when table has data, but doesn't when table is null.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Can't get column header cell if table is null

Post by Support Team » Mon Jan 02, 2012 11:03 am

Hi,

The best way to solve your problems/issues and answer your questions might be a remote session.

We will contact you to find a date within calendar week 2 for the remote session.

Best Regards,
Martin
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Can't get column header cell if table is null

Post by Support Team » Thu Jan 12, 2012 11:43 am

Hi,

as mentioned in the remote session, we will have a look on it and inform your about any news on this topic.

Regards,
Tobias
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image