Can't get Ranorex to detect Genymotion emulator

Mobile Testing, Android App Testing.
gilbar16
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 6:23 pm

Can't get Ranorex to detect Genymotion emulator

Post by gilbar16 » Fri Aug 14, 2015 8:19 pm

Hi,

I'm still using the Ranorex trial version (we ordered but have not received Ranorex yet) and also the Genymotion emulator for Android trial version.

The target virtual device has been defined and the Android emulator started and running but each time I tried to add a device (Android/Emulator), I get this "No running emulators found." error.

What did I miss?
Is the Genymotion emulator going to be detected only if it is not the trial version?

Thanks.
Gilbert

gilbar16
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 6:23 pm

Re: Can't get Ranorex to detect Genymotion emulator

Post by gilbar16 » Fri Aug 14, 2015 9:38 pm

Please disregard.
From an older post, I found out that the way for Ranorex to detect the Genymotion emulator is via the Network connection not via Emulator not via USB. Then changing the IP Address in Ranorex with that of the one displayed on the Genymotion screen.

Would be nice if the Emulator option works. Maybe it would have been simplier.

Thanks.
Gilbert

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Can't get Ranorex to detect Genymotion emulator

Post by Support Team » Wed Aug 26, 2015 11:58 am

Hello Gilbert,

Please have a look at the following post:
http://www.ranorex.com/forum/android-em ... tml#p33918

Regards,
Robert
.
Image

mikelaceste
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 10:18 am

Re: Can't get Ranorex to detect Genymotion emulator

Post by mikelaceste » Fri Feb 26, 2016 10:29 am

Hi,

I'm experiencing the same thing. And is there a way to specify the port number into the device in the manage device window? The port number of the virtual device from genymotion is using port 5555. And Ranorex its showing 31000. I have tried a lot of workaround found in your forum but I still cant connect Ranorex into my emulated device using Genymotion. Im using Windows 7 and has a floating license key in ranorex. Attached is a screenshot of my devices with the error message:
Attachments
Ranorex_ErrorMessage.jpg
Ranorex_ErrorMessage.jpg (68.67 KiB) Viewed 1887 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Can't get Ranorex to detect Genymotion emulator

Post by Support Team » Tue Mar 01, 2016 10:14 am

Hello mikelaceste,

First of all, please ensure that the VMs network adapter is correctly bridged . E.g., create a second adapter:
NetworkAdapter.png
NetworkAdapter.png (10.78 KiB) Viewed 1854 times
Afterwards, please change the IP address within the Ranorex service app (Service App -> Settings)
GenymotionTestPhone.png
GenymotionTestPhone.png (63.65 KiB) Viewed 1854 times
Finally, please re-add the device within the "Manage Devices" on your local machine.

Hope this helps.

Sincerely,
Robert
.
Image

mikelaceste
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 10:18 am

Re: Can't get Ranorex to detect Genymotion emulator

Post by mikelaceste » Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:43 am

Thanks a lot Robert! Got it to work now :D

lucian.teodorescu
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 10:58 am
Location: Bucharest

Re: Can't get Ranorex to detect Genymotion emulator

Post by lucian.teodorescu » Fri Jun 17, 2016 10:24 am

Hi,

I can add, but cannot connect to Genymotion virtual devices with Android higher than 4.4.4
As I see in this thread, mikelaceste tried with Android 6.0.0 and the solution presented is with Android 4.1.1

I can work with anything up to 4.4.4.

Did anyone succeed to use Genymotion with Android 5.1.0 or 6.0.0?

Thank you!
Lucian Teodorescu
NetSun Software

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Can't get Ranorex to detect Genymotion emulator

Post by Support Team » Mon Jun 20, 2016 3:15 pm

Hi lucian.teodorescu,

I just created a new emulator and could successfully add it to Ranorex. Please ensure that you're using our latest Android service app and Ranorex Studio version.
GenyMotionAndroid6.0.png
GenyMotionAndroid6.0.png (37.79 KiB) Viewed 1642 times
Sincerely,
Robert
.
Image

lucian.teodorescu
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 10:58 am
Location: Bucharest

Re: Can't get Ranorex to detect Genymotion emulator

Post by lucian.teodorescu » Tue Jun 21, 2016 9:51 am

Hi Robert,

I use Ranorex 6.0 and the Service App 1.8.6.
I've tried with Genymotion 2.7.1 and 2.7.2.

When I add them via USB, I get this error:

System.Exception: Failed to deploy the application via USB. pkg: /data/local/tmp/androidService.apk

Failure [INSTALL_FAILED_UPDATE_INCOMPATIBLE]


10032 KB/s (904089 bytes in 0.088s)

at Ranorex.Plugin.Mobile.Tools.Android.AndroidUsbDeploymentService.CheckForErrorsThatDoNotResultInErrorCode(ProcessRunner runner)
at Ranorex.Plugin.Mobile.Tools.Android.AndroidUsbDeploymentService.Deploy(String apkFilePath, String deviceInstance, IToolConfig config)
at Ranorex.Plugin.Mobile.Controls.AddDevice.AndroidDeployServicePage.DeployServiceApp()



And when is added via WiFi, I have this:
Image

searching for devices using adb devices command I can see it, but with port 5555 open (it is the same as working devices)

I've tried to reinstall Ranorex, Genymotion, Android SDK ... still not working.
Lucian Teodorescu
NetSun Software

lucian.teodorescu
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 10:58 am
Location: Bucharest

Re: Can't get Ranorex to detect Genymotion emulator

Post by lucian.teodorescu » Tue Jun 21, 2016 10:16 am

OK, adding via USB is no longer a problem. I've just removed the installed Ranorex Service app and it worked.
But connection via WiFi is still problematic.
Lucian Teodorescu
NetSun Software

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Can't get Ranorex to detect Genymotion emulator

Post by Support Team » Thu Jun 23, 2016 9:33 am

Hello lucian.teodorescu,

When using Wifi,please ensure that the correct Network Interface is set within the Ranorex service app:
NetworkInterface.png
NetworkInterface.png (14.96 KiB) Viewed 1615 times
Sincerely,
Robert
.
Image

lucian.teodorescu
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 10:58 am
Location: Bucharest

Re: Can't get Ranorex to detect Genymotion emulator

Post by lucian.teodorescu » Thu Jun 23, 2016 1:34 pm

Hi Robert,

I've already done that, still no luck.

Thanks,
Lucian Teodorescu
NetSun Software

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Can't get Ranorex to detect Genymotion emulator

Post by Support Team » Tue Jun 28, 2016 12:25 pm

Hi Lucian,

Unfortunately, we couldn't reproduce that behavior on our side. I tried with Genymotion 2.7.2 and latest Ranorex version so far.

I assume that still some configurations on your machine are not correct. Maybe you could try to setup the Genymotion - Ranorex connection on another machine in order to sort out machine related issues?

Sincerely,
Robert
.
Image