Can't reach TreeItem's nodeParameters

Ask general questions here.
ozzs
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 2:15 pm

Can't reach TreeItem's nodeParameters

Post by ozzs » Mon Nov 13, 2017 2:33 pm

Hi,

I'm trying get text, cell information of my TreeItem but I can't get any information of it. Tracking the TreeItem and adding it to the my repository.

Using this method:

public bool findTreeItemInTree(Tree myTree, String itemName)
{
IList<TreeItem> myItems = myTree.Find<TreeItem>(".//treeitem", 1000);
foreach (TreeItem myItem in myItems)
{
if (myItem.Text == itemName)
return true;
}
return false;
}

myItem's text attribute is null. On the other hand, when I check my TreeItem on Ranorex Spy's Advance tab all information can be seen on NodeParameter side.

My question is How can I reach the informaiton on NodeParameters?

Regards,
Ozmert

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7470
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Can't reach TreeItem's nodeParameters

Post by odklizec » Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:11 pm

Hi,

Please post a Ranorex snapshot (NOT screenshot) of the problematic tree element. Without, at very least, snapshot, it's pretty hard to provide a reasonable help. Thanks.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

ozzs
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 2:15 pm

Re: Can't reach TreeItem's nodeParameters

Post by ozzs » Tue Nov 14, 2017 6:40 am

Hi,

My Ranorex version 7.2.0 the problem was occurring in the older version as well,
OS: Windows 7,
Hardware: i7, 16GB Memory, onboard gpu card.

Because of the content of the project I can't share further information. If you can tell me something to try to reach the information on nodeParameters, I'll be appreciate that. Thanks.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7470
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Can't reach TreeItem's nodeParameters

Post by odklizec » Tue Nov 14, 2017 8:56 am

Hi,

I'm afraid, I'm not able to help without snapshot. Without knowing structure of the tree in question, I'm unable to tell how to access its attributes. All I can do for you in situation like this, is to suggest to search this forum for all tree-related topics and try to find something useful from them.

If you cannot provide a snapshot taken directly from your app, then ask developers of your app to prepare a small sample app, from which you can get the snapshot. Another possibility is to edit the snapshot from your production app and replace/delete all sensitive data before posting it here. Unzipped snapshot is a xml file anyway ;)
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

ozzs
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 2:15 pm

Re: Can't reach TreeItem's nodeParameters

Post by ozzs » Fri Aug 17, 2018 1:13 pm

Hi,

I'm still facing this problem. I prepared a snapshot. You can see the strucrture of the tree item. I want to get the value of the nodes but I can't.

My Ranorex version 8.1.2 the problem was occurring in the older version as well,
OS: Windows 7,
Hardware: i7, 16GB Memory, onboard gpu card.

Regards,
Özmert
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7470
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Can't reach TreeItem's nodeParameters

Post by odklizec » Fri Aug 17, 2018 2:21 pm

Hi,

I'm afraid, this is a pretty unusual implementation of tree and this is why the code you tried fails. As I can see in the snapshot, there is no way to extract the individual cells from the tree items? Maybe someone more experienced with JTree can suggest something? The only thing I can suggest is to enable the Java SWT legacy automation mode...
java.png
BTW, a pretty similar issue to yours has been discussed here:
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=11167&p=44990#p44990
Simply, the tree you want to automate, is not pretty test automation-friendly and needs to be enhanced, with focus to test automation.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration