Can't see MenuBar in DevExpress BackstageViewControl

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
kappa
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:47 pm

Can't see MenuBar in DevExpress BackstageViewControl

Post by kappa » Thu Oct 04, 2012 2:11 pm

Hi,
Our application use DevExpress 12.1 and we are not able to track elements inside a "DevExpress.XtraBars.Ribbon.BackstageViewControl": the left vertical menubar is never seen.
Please find therewith the Ranorex snapshot file done using the WinForms XtraBars Demo "RibbonSimplePad.exe" furnished by DevExpress.
Could you suggest a solution/workaround for such BackstageViewControl(the Microsoft Office 2010-like application menu)

Thanks in advance.
Best regards
Attachments
BackstageViewControl in RibbonSimplePad.rxsnp
(524.27 KiB) Downloaded 282 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Can't see MenuBar in DevExpress BackstageViewControl

Post by Support Team » Fri Oct 05, 2012 2:37 pm

Hello,

Is your application a 64bit application or a 32bit application? If it is a 64bit application please try to track the element with Ranorex Spy (64bit).
Is it possible to track the element with Microsoft Inspect?

Regards,
Bernhard
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

kappa
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:47 pm

Re: Can't see MenuBar in DevExpress BackstageViewControl

Post by kappa » Fri Oct 05, 2012 6:07 pm

Hello,

"Our"(in fact DevExpress) application, is a DevExpress 32 bit application.

I don't have yet the "Microsoft Inspect", but the old one Spy++ furniched with Visual Studio 2010 and with this Spy++ (32 or 64 bit) I don't see more than the Ranorex Spy (32 or 64 bit).

The BackstageViewControl of DevExpress seems dumb from birth!

Best regards

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Can't see MenuBar in DevExpress BackstageViewControl

Post by Support Team » Mon Oct 08, 2012 4:03 pm

Hello,

Sounds like UIAutomation for the mentioned control is not implemented correctly.
Ranorex can only recognize what the control provides.
Please come in contact with the DevExpress vendor and inform them about the issue within their implementation.

Regards,
Bernhard
Ranore Support Team
.
Image