Cannot find specif field on SAP

Ask general questions here.
caioduarte
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 6:57 pm

Cannot find specif field on SAP

Post by caioduarte » Fri Jul 15, 2016 8:21 pm

I can't find a specific field with View Spy. When I click on the field it selects the whole screen, but I want to select the field "First Delivery Date".

Thanks,
Caio Duarte
Attachments
2.jpg
2.jpg (164.38 KiB) Viewed 630 times
1.jpg
1.jpg (206.59 KiB) Viewed 630 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3930
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Cannot find specif field on SAP

Post by odklizec » Mon Jul 18, 2016 11:22 am

Hi,

Which version of Ranorex do you use?
Could you please post a Ranorex snapshot (not screenshot) of the page containing the problematic element?
Please make sure there is enabled SAP Scripting support as described here:
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... tions.html
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Martin
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 12:24 pm

Re: Cannot find specif field on SAP

Post by Martin » Mon Jul 18, 2016 11:49 am

Hey

Follow this topic:

http://www.ranorex.com/forum/spy-can-t- ... t8446.html

Has everything you need for SAP automation covered ( including WebDynpro related automation) ;)

Or just take a look at this post:
Martin wrote:So here's how i solved my issue.

http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... tions.html

Ranorex actually specifies in it's documentation to enable scripting support for SAP. But it's actually not fully correct.

This setting only handles the client side support for scriping meaning that if the server hasn't got scripting enabled, there is nothing for you to enable or disable through this setting.

But as I am quite new to SAP (3 weeks in on the new job) I didn't have the knowledge of such kind of a parameter. And it's hard to come across when searching for a solution to an issue you have no full knowledge of.

But I managed to stumble upon this documentation for SAP GUI Scripting Security http://www.sdn.sap.com/irj/scn/go/porta ... ayout=true which actually contains the solution.

Server needs to have "sapgui/user_scripting" global parameter enabled (value "TRUE"). Only then has the client side scripting enable/disable setting any effect.

This setting can be changed through transaction RZ10 in SAP and requires server restart.

If there are any security limitations in your company and it's not allowed for everyone to have scripting access, there is a posibility to enable it for only specific people through combining the "sapgui/user_scripting" parameter with "sapgui/user_scripting_per_user".

All the required information is in the previously linked SAP Scripting Security documentation.

Can Ranorex Support update their SAP related documentation as well please.
And actually the post didn't include WebDynpro automation related server parameter. But basically server admin needs to add the following parameter as well:

Code: Select all

SAP-WD-STABLEIDS
With no value.

Info found here: http://help.sap.com/saphelp_nw74/helpda ... ontent.htm

caioduarte
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 6:57 pm

Re: Cannot find specif field on SAP

Post by caioduarte » Mon Jul 18, 2016 10:07 pm

Hi Guys, I think the problem was my PC, because I tested in other machine and I haven't had any problem.
Thanks for your support.

Martin
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 12:24 pm

Re: Cannot find specif field on SAP

Post by Martin » Tue Jul 19, 2016 9:40 am

Probably the issue was not in your PC but in the configuration it had. Following my posts + Ranorex SAP documentation you'll surely get it running on your PC as well.