Cannot run ranorex tests upgraded from 6.2.1 to 8.3.3

Ask general questions here.
hghesani
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 7:55 pm

Cannot run ranorex tests upgraded from 6.2.1 to 8.3.3

Post by hghesani » Fri May 03, 2019 9:26 pm

Hi

Whenever I try to run ranorex tests upgraded from 6.2.1 to 8.3.3 I get the following :

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Ranorex 8.3\AddIns\Misc\PackageManagement\NuGet.exe" restore "RanorexTests.sln"
MSBuild auto-detection: using msbuild version '4.0' from 'C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v4.0.30319'.
Nothing to do. None of the projects in this solution specify any packages for NuGet to restore.

How do I resolve this issue

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11996
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Cannot run ranorex tests upgraded from 6.2.1 to 8.3.3

Post by Support Team » Fri May 03, 2019 9:42 pm

Hi hghhesani,

This is not an issue and is the expected output if there are no Nuget packages to install/update (checked before each build). If there is a build error, this can be found in the Build output (pictured below). If you have any build errors, please provide the Build output and we will be more than happy to help.
1.png
1.png (8.03 KiB) Viewed 283 times
Cheers,
Ned
.
Image

hghesani
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 7:55 pm

Re: Cannot run ranorex tests upgraded from 6.2.1 to 8.3.3

Post by hghesani » Fri May 03, 2019 9:49 pm

Hi

I am seeing the following :

Build started.
Skipped SimTestsSuite01 (no changes inside SharpDevelop)
Skipped RepositoryVariableDefaultValueUpdater (no changes inside SharpDevelop)
Skipped ConnectTests (no changes inside SharpDevelop)
Skipped ConnectTests (no changes inside SharpDevelop)
Skipped MainFrameTests (no changes inside SharpDevelop)
Skipped ConnectTests (no changes inside SharpDevelop)
Skipped FeatureTests (no changes inside SharpDevelop)
Skipped AutomationTests (no changes inside SharpDevelop)
Skipped AutomationTests (no changes inside SharpDevelop)
Skipped AutomationTests (no changes inside SharpDevelop)
Build finished successfully. (00:00:00.0020002)

In the build window

hghesani
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 7:55 pm

Re: Cannot run ranorex tests upgraded from 6.2.1 to 8.3.3

Post by hghesani » Fri May 03, 2019 9:50 pm

With that it seems there are no build errors. but the tests do not start even if the build finishes successfully and I try to run.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11996
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Cannot run ranorex tests upgraded from 6.2.1 to 8.3.3

Post by Support Team » Fri May 03, 2019 10:06 pm

Hmm, strange. Please try the following and see if any of these items resolve the issue.
  • Turn the debugger off if it is enabled
  • Run Ranorex and the application under test with administrative privileges - https://winaero.com/blog/how-to-run-an- ... windows-10
  • Disabled Windows UAC - https://articulate.com/support/article/ ... windows-10
  • Ensure Ranorex, the Ranorex Solution, and the application under test are stored on a local, non-encrypted drive (no network drives)
  • Temporarily disable any anti-virus software and security policies
  • Click the test suite's large [ ► RUN ] button at the top of the test suite (instead of the one from Ranorex Studio's toolbar)
If not, please answer the below questions to help narrow down where the root issue may be.
  1. What happens when you run the test exe from the output directory directly?
  2. When trying to run the test, does it open a console window at all or does nothing happen after the build finishes?
  3. What occurs when you try to run one of the sample solutions found on the Ranorex Studio start page (bottom left corner)?
  4. Does this occur on any other machine with this solution?
Furthermore, if you are able to provide your solution(compressed), we can likely investigate this issue in a timelier manner. If you wish to troubleshoot this in a more private manner, please contact us directly here.

I look forward to your reply!

Cheers,
Ned
.
Image

hghesani
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 7:55 pm

Re: Cannot run ranorex tests upgraded from 6.2.1 to 8.3.3

Post by hghesani » Fri May 03, 2019 10:16 pm

It seems that the ranorex test exe file is not present in the output directory. Leading me to believe that some how there is no exe output because the project is not building.

Which does not make sense.

hghesani
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 7:55 pm

Re: Cannot run ranorex tests upgraded from 6.2.1 to 8.3.3

Post by hghesani » Fri May 03, 2019 10:23 pm

Also, should it not build 4.5.2 : MSBuild auto-detection: using msbuild version '4.0' from 'C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v4.0.30319' instead of 4.0 ?

hghesani
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 7:55 pm

Re: Cannot run ranorex tests upgraded from 6.2.1 to 8.3.3

Post by hghesani » Mon May 06, 2019 1:33 pm

This is resolved. but i am now facing a new issue on running the test cases :


Unhandled Exception: System.IO.FileNotFoundException: Could not load file or ass
embly 'Ranorex.Libs.Base, Version=6.2.1.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b7985
06b574ebc9a' or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specifi
ed.
at Ranorex.Core.ElementEngine.CheckLicense(Boolean showDialogs)
at Ranorex.Core.ElementEngine.AssertLicense()
at Ranorex.Core.ElementEngine..ctor()
at Ranorex.Core.ElementEngine.get_Instance()
at Ranorex.Core.InputDispatcher.EnsureReady()
at Ranorex.Keyboard.UpdateLowLevelKeyboardHookCallback()
at Ranorex.Keyboard.set_AbortKey(Keys value)
at ConnectModeTests.Program.Main(String[] args)

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 5258
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Cannot run ranorex tests upgraded from 6.2.1 to 8.3.3

Post by odklizec » Mon May 06, 2019 1:43 pm

Hi,

Have you tried to completely uninstall old version of Ranorex before installing new one? The error means, that Ranorex apparently searches old (6.2.1.0) version of the lib, which is wrong behavior. So I would suggest to completely uninstall Ranorex, install most recent version 9.0.1 (8.3.3 is already outdated) and rebuild complete solution before running it. Hope this helps?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

hghesani
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 7:55 pm

Re: Cannot run ranorex tests upgraded from 6.2.1 to 8.3.3

Post by hghesani » Mon May 06, 2019 2:17 pm

I tried that. That does not help.

hghesani
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 7:55 pm

Re: Cannot run ranorex tests upgraded from 6.2.1 to 8.3.3

Post by hghesani » Mon May 06, 2019 2:43 pm

I just tried to use "Copy on runtime" as suggested in one of your other posts and Now am getting a new error :
System.Reflection.TargetInvocationException: Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation. ---> System.BadImageFormatException: Could not load fileor assembly 'Ranorex.Core.WinApi, Version=8.3.3.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b798506b574ebc9a' or one of its dependencies. An attempt was made to load a program with an incorrect format.

hghesani
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 7:55 pm

Re: Cannot run ranorex tests upgraded from 6.2.1 to 8.3.3

Post by hghesani » Mon May 06, 2019 4:56 pm

When I compile with 32 bit for the projects it seems to work just fine. It seems like I am loading a dll wrong. Is there a way that in references I can load the right dll ?
Instead of loading C:\Program Files (x86)\Ranorex 8.3\Bin\Ranorex.Core.dll
I can choose C:\Program Files (x86)\Ranorex 8.3\Bin\x64\Ranorex.Core.dll ?

Thanks,

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11996
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Cannot run ranorex tests upgraded from 6.2.1 to 8.3.3

Post by Support Team » Mon May 06, 2019 6:53 pm

To help narrow down if this is an environment specific issue or a solution specific issue, please try creating a new Ranorex Solution and see if it runs successfully.

If it does, then the issue is unique to your solution and providing your solution (compressed) to us would allow us to troubleshoot this in a similar manner.

If the issue occurs in a new solution, then this is likely an issue with your environment. It is possible the install did not complete properly or a core file is corrupt. A full reinstall of Ranorex, C++ Redistributables, and the .NET framework may resolve the issue. Please follow the steps listed below and see if there is any improvement.
  1. Close all Ranorex applications and browsers
  2. Uninstall Ranorex
  3. Uninstall .NET Framework
  4. Uninstall all C++ Redistributables
  5. Restart your machine (important!)
  6. Install Ranorex
  7. Restart your machine (important!)
Looking forward to the results of the above recommendations!

Regards,
Ned
.
Image

hghesani
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon May 21, 2018 7:55 pm

Re: Cannot run ranorex tests upgraded from 6.2.1 to 8.3.3

Post by hghesani » Tue May 07, 2019 2:30 pm

I may not be able to upload the solution. This problem is specific to that solution, since I am able to run cases from a dummy project on the same computer. I did create a case for the support. But I am yet to hear back.

Is there anything else that I should be aware of here. As I said the tests seem to run when I compile with 32 bit as the target processor. With 64 bit the same project fails which leads me to believe that there is a mismatch of the dll with the compiler settings.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11996
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Cannot run ranorex tests upgraded from 6.2.1 to 8.3.3

Post by Support Team » Tue May 07, 2019 4:32 pm

Hi hghesani,

I have replied to your support ticket which we can use to continue troubleshooting this issue.

To any other users who run into this issue, I will post the resolution here once it is found.

Cheers,
Ned
.
Image