Cannot update screenshot to new image

Ask general questions here.
Trefor

Cannot update screenshot to new image

Post by Trefor » Fri Nov 03, 2017 3:50 pm

Hi,
I am struggling to find a way of updating my screenshots in Ranorex.

I am using Image basic to record my clicks.

I have just been delivered a new release of software to test. The Edit picture has changed. I thought I could right click on the image and update, but it is greyed out. (See attached image).

The only way I have managed to update this is going to the "Edit Action Spot" and capturing a new image. But I then need to update every other reference of "Edit" screenshot to the new screenshot and I have used "Edit" a lot and it will take me too long to update all of the references to the new screenshot. I was hoping to only update this screenshot once, but it wont let me.

I'm new to using ranorex. Am I doing something wrong?

Many thanks if you can help,

Regards,
Trefor

Ranorex Version :- 7.1.2+git.f1b94cb3
Attachments
Update screenshot.jpg
Update greyed out
Update screenshot.jpg (76.3 KiB) Viewed 364 times

odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru

Re: Cannot update screenshot to new image

Post by odklizec » Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:57 pm

Hi,

If I understand you right, you are automating your app using image-based recording? I'm sorry to say this, but this is a very bad approach. The image-based automation should be used ONLY in case there is absolutely no other way to identify individual UI elements using Ranorex xpaths. You see, image-based automation is least reliable and most difficult to maintain kind automation. And this what you just found out in the hard way. Even small changes in UI (color, style, size,...) may result in the need to completely overhaul your library of screenshots. I would really recommend to stop using image-based automation and use xpath-based repository instead.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions: