Cant start Chrome on Ranorex Studio

Ranorex Spy, Recorder, and Studio.
Mourasman
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 6:09 pm

Cant start Chrome on Ranorex Studio

Post by Mourasman » Fri Dec 23, 2011 5:27 pm

Hey guys,

I'm trying to run a test script using the "Open Browser" function with Chrome, but it's returning a "file not found" error (chrome.exe).

Error message and stack trace:
"
Failed to open URL 'http://rmouravm/bin-debug/TestWoInstr.html' with browser chrome. Failed to run application 'chrome.exe'. The system cannot find the file specified

at Ranorex.Host.OpenBrowser(String url, String browserName, String browserArgs, Boolean killExisting, Boolean maximized) at FlexCalc.Recording2.Ranorex.Core.Testing.ITestModule.Run() in c:\Investigação\Ranorex\FlexCalc\FlexCalc\FlexCalc\Recording2.cs:line 81 at Ranorex.Core.Testing.TestSuiteModule.RunInternal(DataContext parentDataContext)"

Can anyone help please?

Thanks,
Mourasman

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Cant start Chrome on Ranorex Studio

Post by Support Team » Tue Dec 27, 2011 7:58 am

Hi,

Please try to repair your Chrome installation by doing a re-install and give me feedback if that helped you.

Regards,
Martin
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

Mourasman
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 6:09 pm

Re: Cant start Chrome on Ranorex Studio

Post by Mourasman » Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:40 am

Still no good :(. I've checked the chrome.exe path both on the first and second installations and it was correct on both times. (%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe)

What can I provide to help trace this issue?


Thanks,
Mourasman

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Cant start Chrome on Ranorex Studio

Post by Support Team » Tue Dec 27, 2011 3:03 pm

Hi,

Please also repair your Ranorex Installation. Instrument your chrome browser as described in the user guide and start Ranorex as administrator. Maybe you have not enough privileges to start your chrome browser using another application. Please also enable access to file urls for the Ranorex Plugin.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

Mourasman
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 6:09 pm

Re: Cant start Chrome on Ranorex Studio

Post by Mourasman » Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:45 pm

Thanks for your reply, it helped! The problem was on the admin privileges. I thought turning off UAC would suffice, but apparently it didn't.

What I did to fix it was:
Go to chrome.exe's properties window, click on the "Compatibility" tab and check the "Run this program as an adminstrator" box.

Thank you very much,
Mourasman

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Cant start Chrome on Ranorex Studio

Post by Support Team » Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:35 pm

Hi,

No problem, you're welcome.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team
.
Image

HER
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 2:20 am

Re: Cant start Chrome on Ranorex Studio

Post by HER » Sat Jan 07, 2012 2:26 am

Hi,

Sorry to hijack this post but it seems fresh and relevant. I am having the same issue. Test driven a trial version of Ranorex Studio (RxStudio).

If I reinstall Rx won't that mess up the number of trial days I have left over? Seems lame to me that I would have to reinstall Chrome...I did install Chrome before I installed Ranorex Studio. Is there no other way to "point" RxStudio to the chrome.exe file it can't find? A settings file somewhere? Don't tell me it is hard coded, that would seem quite limiting!

A Windows Registry setting somewhere? I did follow the "admin privileges" suggestion but no luck..even after restarting RxStudio. I am trying to do a comparison of Telerik Studio vs. RxStudio...just to see what kind of quick 'n dirty snags I would encounter. So far, I've had issues with both "tools".

Please advise.
-HER

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Cant start Chrome on Ranorex Studio

Post by Support Team » Tue Jan 10, 2012 1:48 pm

Hi,

In special circumstances there can be problems with opening chrome, but we have determined the problem and it will be fixed with 3.2.1.
As a current workaround you can use the "Run an Application" action to run chrome from the specific directory.
If you want to open the browser with a specific start page, you can enter the URL as an "Argument".

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image