Change Recording Name leads to Error

Ask general questions here.
Ahmad
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 7:29 am
Location: Berlin

Change Recording Name leads to Error

Post by Ahmad » Sun Jun 28, 2020 11:32 am

Hello all,

When I rename the recording module, it makes an error after build the selution.
Der Name "Init" ist im aktuellen Kontext nicht vorhanden. (CS0103)

Thank you.

Regards,
Ahmad

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6553
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Change Recording Name leads to Error

Post by odklizec » Mon Jun 29, 2020 6:28 am

Hi,

I believe that "Init" is a reserved keyword, which must not be used as a module name! So rename your module to something else and the error should be gone ;)
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Ahmad
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 7:29 am
Location: Berlin

Re: Change Recording Name leads to Error

Post by Ahmad » Mon Jun 29, 2020 10:36 am

Hello Odklizec,

thank you for your replay.

But I did not rename the recording module to the "init", the error appears regardless of the name.

Regards,
Ahmad

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6553
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Change Recording Name leads to Error

Post by odklizec » Mon Jun 29, 2020 10:53 am

Hi,

I see. What Ranorex version do you use? Could you please post entire solution (zipped) for review? You can zip it via menu Tools >> Compress solution and open folder. Of course, you can compress it also manually, outside Ranorex Studio, but in this case, exclude Reports, Obj and Bin folders.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

henrikw
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 10:19 am

Re: Change Recording Name leads to Error

Post by henrikw » Tue Mar 02, 2021 4:05 pm

I'm facing the same issues whenever renaming a recording. Only way I can solve it is by creating a new recording and then copy-paste the recording steps into that one and Save. Then delete the old recording. A bit tedious when you have a larger recording library and wants to rename recordings for better usability in the day-to.day work

User avatar
Stub
Posts: 443
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 1:35 pm

Re: Change Recording Name leads to Error

Post by Stub » Tue Mar 02, 2021 4:39 pm

That is a super irritating buglette I've encountered too.

Fergal
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 354
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: Co Louth, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Change Recording Name leads to Error

Post by Fergal » Thu Mar 04, 2021 5:45 pm

henrikw wrote:
Tue Mar 02, 2021 4:05 pm
I'm facing the same issues whenever renaming a recording. Only way I can solve it is by creating a new recording and then copy-paste the recording steps into that one and Save. Then delete the old recording. A bit tedious when you have a larger recording library and wants to rename recordings for better usability in the day-to.day work
I've been having the same issue and using the same workaround in Ranorex 9.3. Hopefully someone from Ranorex can look into this issue.

BlindJones
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 7:10 am

Re: Change Recording Name leads to Error

Post by BlindJones » Fri Mar 05, 2021 8:10 pm

Same for me here, this bug is very annoying. Renaming a recording file often results in that error.
Ranorex Studio 9.4 running.

Regards
Sebastian