Changing platform has effect on repository?

Ask general questions here.
mstimpfl
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 12:17 pm

Changing platform has effect on repository?

Post by mstimpfl » Thu Oct 22, 2009 12:25 pm

Hi!

We've installed Ranorex on a testserver where i created my testcases. As we have a performance problem there I installed an evaluation version of Ranorex to my local machine to run some testcases (which were created on the testserver as well as the repository).

But when I try to run a testcase Ranorex can't find the items stored in the repository. Has the change of the OS (Windows Server 2003 to Windows XP SP3) an effect on the repository? Do repositories created on a particular OS work on another one?

Or is it just that this evaluation screen pops up when starting the testcases in evaluation version confuses Ranorex?

Cheers,
Martin

mstimpfl
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 12:17 pm

Re: Changing platform has effect on repository?

Post by mstimpfl » Thu Oct 22, 2009 12:40 pm

..hm maybe I should add that the testserver is a 64-Bit Machine while my local machine is a 32-Bit one. The target architecture of the Ranorex-project on the 64-Bit Machine is set to 32-Bit. I don't know if this affects the recorder as well which built the repository. How can I find out which recorder version my project is using?

Cheers,
Martin

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Changing platform has effect on repository?

Post by Support Team » Thu Oct 22, 2009 5:19 pm

That can be a problem if the applications your are trying to automate run as 64 bit processes, whereas your Ranorex executable runs as a 32 bit process (when you specify a 32 bit target architecture). You could try changing the target architecture to "Any CPU". Please, read the following chapter in the Ranorex User Guide:
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... forms.html

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image