Check if image exists yet

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
ctasci
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 3:51 pm

Check if image exists yet

Post by ctasci » Sun Jul 04, 2010 3:58 pm

hi,

i want to test my website which containes some images

How can i check if the images is still there
i tried with findsingle but it doesnet worked.

PS: the images is in a legend tag.

Best regards
Caglar Tasci

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Check if image exists yet

Post by Support Team » Mon Jul 05, 2010 9:25 am

Hi,

You can use the RxPath to retrieve a List of ImgTags. We have an example in our tutorial
http://www.ranorex.com/Documentation/Ra ... torial.pdf
You will find it on Page 41. This example uses the VIPApplication from the Samples, but you can adapt the code for your case to use it for ImgTags.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

ctasci
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 3:51 pm

Re: Check if image exists yet

Post by ctasci » Tue Jul 06, 2010 1:42 pm

Hi,

the problem is that the tags are in a iframe. in IE i have no problems, but in firefox i cant Track the items/tags so i cant identificate them.
if i open in firefoxthe iframe in a new brwoser tag, i can catch the tags like image tag.
but if i want to use it in code with the XPath i get ther error "entire does not exists any more".
i think its clear, why i get this error.
But how can i catch tags in a iframe in Firefox

PS: i installed the firefox addone and its enabled

Best regards
Caglar

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Check if image exists yet

Post by Support Team » Tue Jul 06, 2010 3:57 pm

Hi,

Please can you post me some additional information:
Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Support Team
.
Image

ctasci
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 3:51 pm

Re: Check if image exists yet

Post by ctasci » Wed Jul 07, 2010 9:09 am

hi,

at first thank you for your fast replies :)

I use Ranorex studio 2.3
and this is the page i want to check and track the elements:
http://mathcoach.htw-saarland.de:8080/m ... howConsole

how i said, if i open the iframe in a new browser tag i can reach the elemenets. but this is not a solution cause it does not work if i use the xpath in the code.

i made 3 snapshuts. i want to track/capture elements in the "firstInnerWindow" but i can't
(PS: it's a iframe)
Attachments
secondInnerWindow.rxsnp
(240.74 KiB) Downloaded 247 times
BiggestOuterWindow.rxsnp
(276.39 KiB) Downloaded 254 times
firstInnerWindow.rxsnp
(59.42 KiB) Downloaded 277 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Check if image exists yet

Post by Support Team » Wed Jul 07, 2010 12:38 pm

Hi

I have checked out the website and it looks like we found a bug in Firefox ;)
The frame which is not working is delivered from the webserver as mime type "text/xml" which is definitely not correct, because the mime type for XHTML should still be set to "text/html". This can probably be changed in the servlet code, and should fix the problem with Ranorex.

The problem is that this causes Firefox to create an XML document with HTML children which is not supported by Ranorex (and definitely not intended).

Cheers,
Michael
Ranorex Team
.
Image

ctasci
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 3:51 pm

Re: Check if image exists yet

Post by ctasci » Thu Jul 08, 2010 11:39 am

i will try it today and will post it if it worked.
thank your for your help.
Great support team :)

Best regards
Caglar Tasci