Checking elements in tablegrid

Ranorex Studio, Spy, Recorder, and Driver.
SQA-SQA
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 2:05 pm

Checking elements in tablegrid

Post by SQA-SQA » Thu Apr 23, 2009 2:37 pm

Hi,

I have recorded a part of the application I wanted to test. One of the actions is entering a message, hitting send button, and validating that the message pops up in a table grid. ( kind of send message container )

Via the recorder I can select the tablegrid, but no further.
How can I check/validate those elements inside the tablegrid ?

I am using the python generated code. This is the my end point in the record ( tablegrid )

def TableGridOutbound(self):

return self.CreateAdapterForPath[Ranorex.Table]("TableGridOutbound", "tabpagelist/tabpage[@name='AppName1']/element/element[@classname='WControl']/*/tabpage[@name='Outbound Messages']/element/table", 5000, None)

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by Support Team » Fri Apr 24, 2009 9:14 am

Hello SQA-SQA,
could you give us more detailed information about the table grid (WPF, .NET, 3rd party control etc.)


Regards,
Christian
Ranorex Support Team

SQA-SQA
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 2:05 pm

Post by SQA-SQA » Fri Apr 24, 2009 9:54 am

hi, here some details i got via the Spy tool :

(.net application )

ClassName = DataGridControl
ControlType = DataGrid
FrameworkId = WPF
IsContentElement = true
IsControlElement = true
IsKeyboardFocusable = True
IsPassword = false
IsRequiredForm = false
LocalizedControlType = datagrid


hope this helps ....

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by Support Team » Fri Apr 24, 2009 1:06 pm

Whats the exact name of the table grid control you are using?
There should be no problem detecting elements in the WPF Data Grid control(WPFToolkit).

Regards,
Christian
Ranorex Support Team

MM-P
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 10:50 am

Re: Checking elements in tablegrid

Post by MM-P » Mon Apr 27, 2009 7:42 am

SQA-SQA wrote: Via the recorder I can select the tablegrid, but no further.
How can I check/validate those elements inside the tablegrid ?
I had a similar problem with the Xceed grid in Version 3.0. In February 2009 they fixed it in Version 3.1. http://xceed.com/Grid_WPF_New.html - UI automation enables the use of assistive technologies and script-based testing.

Find out if for your 3rd party control grid is a new library available! And find out the name of your WPFToolkit ;)