Chrome Allow buttonsproblem

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
rastek
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 12:00 pm

Chrome Allow buttonsproblem

Post by rastek » Wed Jan 21, 2015 9:14 am

Hi

I am having this problem for a long time. In some pcs, instead of recognizing mic 'Allow' button in chrome browser, Ranorex just records it as global coordinate click on chrome such as

repo.WebGoogleChrome.Self.Click("545;88")

and laetr even this self click does not work properly and does not give me a temporary solution..

however in some other pcs , Ranorex recognize the Allow button successfuly like this

container[@accessiblename='Google Chrome']//button[@accessiblename='Allow']/text[@accessiblename='Allow']

And Ranroex and chrome versions, and even OS versions are same on those pcs !

By the way, even in those problematic pcs, Ranorex recognizes the chrome for the app, I mean everything is fine Renorex recognise objects inside the page corretly but does not recognize objects asuch as Allow button outside the web page.

Does anybody come up this problem before ? If so please help me and share available workarounds for this problem,

Thanks,
rastek.
Attachments
Allowbutton.png
Allowbutton.png (3.96 KiB) Viewed 843 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3945
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Chrome Allow buttonsproblem

Post by odklizec » Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:35 am

Hi,

There must be something different between these computers, maybe some MS hotfixes, drivers, antivirus, etc. maybe even Ranorex settings? Have you tried copying Ranorex settings from 'working' machine to the problematic one? Just export settings via settings dialog and import them on another PC. It may also be a problem with different Chrome settings? If Ranorex consistently works with one PC and not with another one, then there must be a difference.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

rastek
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 12:00 pm

Re: Chrome Allow buttonsproblem

Post by rastek » Mon Jan 26, 2015 10:17 am

I dont think it is a problem with settings, bcos I never change a setting after Ranorex install, and I make a refresh install on all those computer recently.

So you mean Ranorex behaves differently cos of some MS policy or antivirus ? That is weird ??

Do I have to be computer specialist to solve all those kind of problem with all kind of software ? Shouldnt a piece of software work properly on same type of pcs ? Am I wrong ?

By the way, all those computer are company computer and they have same igame installed, same antivures etc.

That is a problem should be solve by Ranorex I think, why it behaves diffetenly on different computers that ha same OS and same Browser wven with same Browser version..

Thanks,
Rasim

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3945
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Chrome Allow buttonsproblem

Post by odklizec » Mon Jan 26, 2015 11:10 am

Welcome to the reality of PC automation world :) None two PCs are exactly the same, unless you install them from the same iso image and even then they are the same only for a brief moment. This is why I prefer to use virtual machines and at start/end of the test revert their state back to saved snapshot.


I think the most probable reason why ranorex records your object with screen coordinates instead of xpath is that the web browser is not instrumented correctly and therefore, Ranorex don't see "inside" of the browser. I would suggest you to try to re-instrument chrome on the problematic PC, as described here...
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... hrome.html
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

rastek
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 12:00 pm

Re: Chrome Allow buttonsproblem

Post by rastek » Wed Jan 28, 2015 2:10 pm

Hey there is no problem that ranorex can not see inside browser,
I can see inside browser, it works fine for the web application, only can not see the Allow button.

Yeah I know none two PCs are exactly the same, the problem is that this little problem blokcs my auomation on some computer. Why the hell Ranorex can not see that Allow button, isnt that weird ??



And that problem is not seen only in one computer, I do not think it is a installation problem.


Thanks,
Rasim.

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Chrome Allow buttonsproblem

Post by krstcs » Wed Jan 28, 2015 2:43 pm

Please ensure that Accessibility mode is turned on in each Chrome browser by navigating to about:accessibility.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

rastek
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 12:00 pm

Re: Chrome Allow buttonsproblem

Post by rastek » Sun Mar 15, 2015 11:53 am

Hi krstsc

It doesn't solve my problem. I made it with on and off, also on other computer where problem does not seen it is off.

Can you recommend anything else ? I also unstall and reinstall chrome but no result :(

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Chrome Allow buttonsproblem

Post by Support Team » Mon Mar 23, 2015 9:23 am

Hello Rasim,

I would suggest doing a clean re-install of Ranorex.

Therefore, please:
  • • Completely uninstall Ranorex.
    • Reboot your machine.
    • Install the latest version of Ranorex, currently Ranorex 5.3.
    • Instrument Chrome again.
    • Check if Accessibility mode within Chrome is enabled.
    • Track element again.
If you are still facing the issue, please contact [email protected]

Regards,
Robert
.
Image