Chrome extension 1.1.0 not recognize some objects

Bug reports.
Marcin.Jarno
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:27 pm

Chrome extension 1.1.0 not recognize some objects

Post by Marcin.Jarno » Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:37 pm

Hi,
After update chrome extension to 1.1.0 some object are not found.
For example there is checkbox on form, in first atempt that checkbox is foung correctly but when ranorex is click on save on that form, than go to edit again that checkbox is not found. Even in spy there is no possibility to search that object.
On extension 1.0.11 there is no problem and all tests are running correctly.
Webapp written in angular.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3949
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Chrome extension 1.1.0 not recognize some objects

Post by odklizec » Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:02 pm

Hi,

Could you please post a Ranorex snapshot of the problematic element (or its nearest ancestor container) taken both with new and old chrome plugin? Ideally, post also a small sample, in which Ranorex folks can test the problem. There is definitely something weird about Chrome plugin. I'm too experiencing some issues with Chrome plugin (some already reported, some other under investigation).
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

ahoisl
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 8:16 am

Re: Chrome extension 1.1.0 not recognize some objects

Post by ahoisl » Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:39 pm

Hi guys,

Could you post some sample web pages and a detailed description on how to reproduce the problem; or even better a small Ranorex sample code?
And what is your Ranorex version?

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3949
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Chrome extension 1.1.0 not recognize some objects

Post by odklizec » Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:43 pm

There is definitely something wrong with Chrome plugin 1.1.0. In our night tests, some (usually) rock-solid tests started to fail in Chrome (during validation of some elements). The same elements are found and validated OK in FF!

I discussed the problem with our devs and coincidentally, there were done some Chrome-related changes in yesterday's code. So I thought the recognition problem has been caused by these changes. However, I just tried the test on another machine, with not yet updated Chrome plugin version 1.0.11 and here the test worked as expected. And sure enough, after updating plugin to 1.1.0, the test stopped working. So it's definitely Chrome plugin-related issue.

It seems that after invoking changes in UI, Chrome plugin is either unable to recognize the DOM or the DIVs (containing the elements in question) are marked as "Invalid". I'm going to prepare a snapshot of invalid state. But I'm afraid, I will be unable to provide a sample page. The app I'm testing is not publicly available. But maybe we could arrange a remote session?

EDIT:
I found this problem with Ranorex 8.0.1 but I can reproduced it with 8.1 as well. Chrome version 65.0.3325.181 (Official Build) (64-bit). And I now checked the plugin history in Chrome store and found out that 1.1.0 has been released yesterday. So it answers the problem and I'm happy to tell our devs they can breath again :)
Last edited by odklizec on Wed Mar 28, 2018 2:10 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

ahoisl
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 8:16 am

Re: Chrome extension 1.1.0 not recognize some objects

Post by ahoisl » Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:47 pm

What would help a lot more than a snapshot, is a detailed step-by-step explanation on what you do to cause the problem. A remote session may help, too.

Can you tell us the Ranorex and Chrome versions you are using?

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team

Marcin.Jarno
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:27 pm

Re: Chrome extension 1.1.0 not recognize some objects

Post by Marcin.Jarno » Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:52 pm

Hi,
I'am using Ranorex 8.0.0
And when I run that same test on that same version of chrome but on two diferent plugins I have that issue.

on plugin 1.0.11
plugin1011_valid.JPG
plugin1011_valid.JPG (22.69 KiB) Viewed 564 times
and on plugin 1.1.0
plugin110_not_valid.JPG
plugin110_not_valid.JPG (30.78 KiB) Viewed 564 times

ahoisl
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 8:16 am

Re: Chrome extension 1.1.0 not recognize some objects

Post by ahoisl » Wed Mar 28, 2018 2:14 pm

The following additional info would also help us:
  • Chrome version
  • Ranorex version
  • Output of Ranorex extension background page console (open Chrome extensions, enable Developer Mode, click on "background.html", see Console)
Thank you!

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (21.92 KiB) Viewed 546 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3949
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Chrome extension 1.1.0 not recognize some objects

Post by odklizec » Wed Mar 28, 2018 2:53 pm

Chrome version 65.0.3325.181 (Official Build) (64-bit).
Ranorex 8.0.1 and 8.1.0
Output of Ranorex extension background:
Ranorex: setup background page
background.js:1 Ranorex: begin extension init
background.js:1 Ranorex: extension init complete
background.js:1 Ranorex: tab 2:0 has connected
background.js:1 Ranorex: tab 2:8 has connected
background.js:1 Ranorex: tab 2:8 has disconnected
background.js:1 Ranorex: tab 2:8 has connected

I see the same issue as on Marcin's screenshots. Unfortunately, I'm unable to reproduce it with simple web page.

Here is my somewhat complicated screenshot, depicting the issue:
Chrome_Plugin_problem.png
Chrome_Plugin_problem.png (94.76 KiB) Viewed 523 times
Basically, before clicking the "Lock" button, Ranorex can clearly track the content of Lock button, which contains hidden sortascbutton element. Once clicked, the the sortascbutton is made visible, but Ranorex is no longer unable to see the content of toolbar, containing "Lock" and other buttons.

I think remote session would be much more helpful ;) BTW, it may be possible to reproduce the issue with jqwidget samples? I will give it a shot and let you know the result.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

CWhiting
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2018 9:32 pm

Re: Chrome extension 1.1.0 not recognize some objects

Post by CWhiting » Wed Mar 28, 2018 9:21 pm

I am also experiencing this problem. Yesterday, I had tests that were working reliably. Today, they are failing to recognize some objects. One test was improved by adding a page refresh, cache was already disabled. A different test and a different page - the automation will not recognize the object. It is challenging to get Spy to not have an invalid tree element.

I decided to run the existing tests and some have passed but one simple test just failed. I was running 8.0.1 but after encountering this issue, I upgraded to 8.1 - no improvement.

ahoisl
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 8:16 am

Re: Chrome extension 1.1.0 not recognize some objects

Post by ahoisl » Wed Mar 28, 2018 10:06 pm

Unfortunately, we were unable to reproduce that problem on our end, even when trying with the jqwidget samples.
If you have a simple example to share, please go ahead, we would be really grateful :)

Otherwise, our developers will contact odklizec for a remote session. Hopefully, this can shed some light on that problem. We will do our best to fix the issue as quick as possible.

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3949
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Chrome extension 1.1.0 not recognize some objects

Post by odklizec » Thu Mar 29, 2018 8:18 am

Hi Alex,

I probably found reproducible steps of the problem, using Angular Grid sample.

Please go to this page:
https://www.jqwidgets.com/angular/angul ... tm#Sorting

Now open Ranorex Spy and track any cell inside the Grid (any name in the First Name column) >> Ranorex should track the cell without any issue. So far so good.

Now click "First Name" header cell, to sort the column (no matter in which direction).

And finally, try to track any first name cell >> Spy is unable to track the individual cells and if you click inside the grid (without tracking highlight), Spy returns "invalid" DIVs...
chrome_invalid_divs.png
chrome_invalid_divs.png (44.08 KiB) Viewed 473 times
Hope this helps?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11710
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Chrome extension 1.1.0 not recognize some objects

Post by Support Team » Thu Mar 29, 2018 11:06 am

Hi guys,

Thank you for your cooperation.

We already uploaded a new version of our Chrome Extension to the Chrome Webstore, please install the new version, v.1.1.1, and check if the issue still persists: https://goo.gl/PQrGzS

Thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Robert
.
Image

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 3949
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Chrome extension 1.1.0 not recognize some objects

Post by odklizec » Thu Mar 29, 2018 1:21 pm

Hi Robert,

I'm happy to report that the problem seems to be gone in Chrome plugin 1.1.1. Good work! Thanks.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Marcin.Jarno
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:27 pm

Re: Chrome extension 1.1.0 not recognize some objects

Post by Marcin.Jarno » Fri Mar 30, 2018 11:11 am

Hi,
I've tested version 1.1.2 and there is only one small issue that I found.
I've got method that click on object and then check if there is some object exist on page and if not click is repeated.
I've got list where results are loading, but click is executed before some values are shown, so ranorex was click on upper left corner of chrome browser, and open context menu.
context_menu.JPG
context_menu.JPG (16.28 KiB) Viewed 396 times
My method was try to click again on element on list but when that context menu was shown plugin was not able to search that element, I've found record from tests with plugin 1.0.11 and there was no problem with that, it click on element even if that context menu was show.
Should be corrected as soon as possible.

User avatar
RobinHood42
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 3:24 pm

Re: Chrome extension 1.1.0 not recognize some objects

Post by RobinHood42 » Tue Apr 03, 2018 8:32 am

Hi,

I was not able to reproduce the mentioned behavior with the new Chrome plugin (v. 1.1.2) and Ranorex 8.1.0. DOM elements are found even when the mentioned system dialog is shown.
I've got list where results are loading, but click is executed before some values are shown, so ranorex was click on upper left corner of chrome browser, and open context menu.
Anyhow, I would recommend adding a WaitForDocumentLoaded() and/or a hard-coded delay to resolve your timing issue. Right before accessing the result list, add a small delay to pause the automated test for a moment and give the web-page's UI some time to load. If the result list takes 2 seconds to complete, add a 2 or 2,5 seconds delay to your test.

Cheers,
Robin :mrgreen: