Chrome Multiple Tab Issue

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
jawang35
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 4:37 pm

Chrome Multiple Tab Issue

Post by jawang35 » Wed Mar 26, 2014 3:47 pm

In my application I have links that open new tabs that I would like to test. The Ranorex View Spy is having trouble detecting objects in Chrome when multiple tabs are opened. I do have the Ranorex Extension installed for Chrome. Has anyone else come across this issue before?

krstcs
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Chrome Multiple Tab Issue

Post by krstcs » Wed Mar 26, 2014 4:42 pm

You will not be able to test multiple tabs with exactly the same site/page open at the same time. Ranorex finds the first match to whatever it is looking for, which means one page will get tested and the other(s) won't.

Is there a reason you need to test multiple tabs of the same page at the same time?

Is there some way to differentiate the pages? Is there a difference in the URL, or maybe a customer ID on the page, etc., that you could use?
Shortcuts usually aren't...

jawang35
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 4:37 pm

Re: Chrome Multiple Tab Issue

Post by jawang35 » Wed Mar 26, 2014 9:54 pm

Sorry for the confusion. The new tabs that are opened are not of the same page. They are brand new pages with the same domain but different URLs. The issue is that Spy does not see objects in these new tabs at all.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Chrome Multiple Tab Issue

Post by Support Team » Fri Mar 28, 2014 11:46 am

Hi,

This is strange!
Spy shouldn't have any issues to detect the elements on new tabs when it was able to identify the web elements of the first tab.
Do you set the focus on the new tab before you track the elements?
May I ask you to illustrate your issue with some screenshots?

Thanks,
Markus
.
Image

jawang35
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 4:37 pm

Re: Chrome Multiple Tab Issue

Post by jawang35 » Fri Mar 28, 2014 3:38 pm

How do I set focus on the new tab?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Chrome Multiple Tab Issue

Post by Support Team » Mon Mar 31, 2014 1:45 pm

Hi,

You just need to Invoke EnsureVisible on the root dom repository item of the tab as shown below:
EnsureVisible.png
EnsureVisible.png (21.54 KiB) Viewed 1572 times
Regards,
Markus
.
Image

jawang35
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 4:37 pm

Re: Chrome Multiple Tab Issue

Post by jawang35 » Thu Apr 03, 2014 4:41 pm

Here is a screenshot of the View Spy Track trying to find objects in the page.
viewspytrack.png
viewspytrack.png (118.28 KiB) Viewed 1552 times
Here is a screenshot of View Spy when I enter the path to an element in the page when both tabs are open.
viewspy1.png
viewspy1.png (43.71 KiB) Viewed 1552 times
Here is a screenshot of View Spy when I enter the path to the same element in the page after one tab is closed.
viewspy2.png
viewspy2.png (73.6 KiB) Viewed 1552 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Chrome Multiple Tab Issue

Post by Support Team » Mon Apr 07, 2014 3:31 pm

Hi,

This should normally work without any issues.
May therefore ask you which browser and Ranorex version you are using and if you could upload or send (to [email protected]) a Ranorex snapshot file of your Host element when more taps are open?
This will help us in anlayzing the issue!

Thanks,
Markus
.
Image