Chrome's System Tray App

Ask general questions here.
User avatar
Aracknid
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 3:23 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Chrome's System Tray App

Post by Aracknid » Thu Dec 20, 2012 10:44 pm

After install Ranorex 3.3.5 and starting up Chrome (I'm still using ver 22), I noticed for the first time that something Chrome related is running in the system tray, and specifically it had a popup balloon appear that said something about Ranorex Automation running in the background.

1) Is this new in 3.3.5 or did I just never notice this before?
2) What is this for and do we need to let it run?

Not that it was a huge issue or anything, but I had code that checked for Chrome processes after my script logged out of my app within Chrome and it was failing due to these new system tasks. I was able to find a way around it fairly easily. Not sure if anything else unexpected may occur.

Aracknid

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Chrome's System Tray App

Post by Support Team » Fri Dec 21, 2012 4:32 pm

Hi,

Do you mean the message about the Ranorex Automation plugin or which pop up do you mean?
There are no breaking changes in 3.3.5 so it should have been the same in previous versions.

Regards,
Markus
.
Image

User avatar
Aracknid
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 3:23 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Re: Chrome's System Tray App

Post by Aracknid » Fri Dec 21, 2012 5:57 pm

I'm talking about this:
chrome system tray 4.JPG
chrome system tray 4.JPG (10.5 KiB) Viewed 1749 times
And right-click on it to see this:
chrome system tray 3.JPG
chrome system tray 3.JPG (9.89 KiB) Viewed 1749 times
I did a couple of things yesterday aside from installing 3.3.5... I also uninstalled and re-installed the Chrome plug-in and disabled and enabled it. I can see that disabling and then re-enabling it causes the popup message balloon to appear (in only appears one time unless you do this). But the task running I've never noticed, so maybe this was due to uninstall and re-install? The reason I'm uninstalling and re-installing is because my other issue is this (when I run my compiled script):
console.JPG
console.JPG (45.99 KiB) Viewed 1749 times

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11709
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Chrome's System Tray App

Post by Support Team » Mon Dec 24, 2012 12:37 pm

Hello,

It could be that chrome prevents installing the plugin after uninstalling it manually.
Please try to execute the following steps:
  • 1.Close Chrome
    2.Open the Chrome appdata-path on your machine, e.g.:
    C:\Users\user\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default

    3.Open the "Preferences" file with a text editor like Notepad++

    4.Search for the string "Ranorex Automation"

    5.Delete the entire entry (where this string is located) between the curly brackets, e.g.
    "hojnidgllopambhfdnfleljkgogcbkho": {
    ...
    }

    6.Save the "Preferences" file

    7.Re-try the intrumentation using the instrumentation wizard

    8.Restart your Chrome instance and see whether the old plugin has been applied
Regards,
Bernhard
Attachments
ChromePlugin.png
ChromePlugin.png (17.81 KiB) Viewed 1739 times
.
Image