Click each row in table

Class library usage, coding and language questions.
davilo61

Click each row in table

Post by davilo61 » Fri May 30, 2014 7:36 pm

Hi, I'm new to coding and ranorex and I am trying to develop automation for the following workflow:
This is the basic outline of the flow:

1. Select row 1 in a table
2. Set address (based on selection in step 1)
3. Process Order

4. Select row 2 from same table

I tried using the invoke action and set value with a data source, but was unable to understand how to proceed. I also am looking at using a 'for each' loop. Would the 'for each' loop need to include steps 2 and 3? I would think so ,but wondered what is the best practice for that flow. Is there a simpler solution using a datasource and mouse click ?

Thanks in advance for any help. Much appreciated!!

Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Click each row in table

Post by Support Team » Mon Jun 02, 2014 1:32 pm

Hi,

From what you wrote I would say that the data-driven approach would work for you.
You can for instance use a test case with a data connection which holds the values which should be used to set the address in the specific row.
In order to make it data driven you need to add the Set Value action to the recording of the specific test case. As Value of the Set Value action you can use a variable which can be bound to your data connector and as the repository item you need to use an item with a RxPath which uses a variable in order to address the different rows, so instead of a hard coded row number you need to use a repository variable instead. This repository variable will then be automatically copied to the specific recording in order to make it bindable.

I created a small sample with a Key Sequence instead of a Set Value action but the rest should be the same:
Step 1: Make the Set Value in my case the Key Sequence action data driven:
SetVariable.png