Coding in Ranorex

Ask general questions here.
bowang616

Coding in Ranorex

Post by bowang616 » Wed May 23, 2018 3:13 pm

Hello,

I am new to Ranorex and would like to know if it is possible to automate tests for web applications fully by coding. I understand there are tools like Recorder and Spy to help you identify elements and other things, but I am used to coding and have done automation coding in Java/Python using Selenium WebDriver, so I am wondering if Ranorex allows you to automate tests completely in C# without Recorder and Spy.

If yes, how does it compare to coding in Selenium? Is it very different or similar? Also is it recommended and easier to identify/maintain elements using the Spy?

Any other information is greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Coding in Ranorex

Post by Support Team » Wed May 23, 2018 8:56 pm

Hi Bowang616,

I may be a little biased but I do have a Selenium background and can provide some helpful information. With Ranorex, you can 100% use only code and we have many customers who do this - but I often don't recommend it. All actions in a Recording Module are 100% c#/VB.NET code in the background which you can view and edit yourself if needed. The recording module is basically writing the code for you and is displaying a manageable "beautified" version of the code. Recording modules are much easier to maintain and understand (great for passing your project on or when adding new team members). I recommend giving recording modules a shot, they will likely exceed your expectations.

Nonetheless, you still have the choice to work fully in code. With Ranorex, you can use an API that is much easier than Selenium. You can continue to use the Ranorex Repository in code and even drag & drop elements from the repository to your code. Ranorex will refactor your code automatically when making updates to elements to your centralized repository.